Life in Tyria: Several funny things happened to me on the way to the way point…

Last night in #GuildWars2 was really good fun yet I got nothing done and don’t care that I didn’t. Let me explain.

I logged in later than normal due to family stuff and found there were only three of the “All the Gs” guild online, me, +Cmdr Paws & +Alex Hartmann. We chatted in TS for a while and it was apparent we were all doing our own things. I wanted to start the next part of my personal story and both guildies offered to join me for back up, an offer I was delighted to accept as I knew I’d be walking into a fight in the next step.

But we never got to that step and here’s why.

The guys came to me but neither had been to my area before so they had a fun run through a lot of bad guys to get to me. Once they reached me in the Skritt caves we decided to explore and found a Hero Point guarded by a Veteran spider and lots of rapidly re-spawning spider minions so we had a blast stomping them before we found a small Skitt camp with a spider-stomping training stage complete with painted wooden spiders that drop down ๐Ÿ˜€

On the way out we decided to cut across a mountain to get to my personal story entry point and ran slap bang into a Jotun camp with another Hero Point and Vet. Commence a serious fight as Jotun are a lot tougher than spiders and both Paws and Alex were under powered for the zone, but we won! We then exited by leaping down a cliff face like three drug-fueled goats and dashed off to climb another mountain guarded by griffins. We did this because at the top was a Vista that afforded us a lovely cinematic of the area. At this point Alex and I became part-goat again but Paws decided to see if he could survive the fall. He couldn’t but by the Six Gods the dent he left ion the road was impressive!

At last we could set off for the personal story point… except I saw a lonely Charr by a cave so went to investigate instead. He asked us to go inside and help his colleagues save the Skriitt from the demons so we did – we are heroic and noble like that, you see. In the caves we found the whole area full of foul yellow mist and glowing crystals and the poor Skritt were under attack by Imps galore! We set about smacking down the wee winged swine and soon came across a Sylvari scholar, a colleague of the Charr outside, who needed us to gather some of the crystals so she could open a portal to send the imps back. Only the portal then started to spew lots of them out along with a Veteran Imp. Cue another damn big fight!

On the way out of the caves and finally heading towards the personal story point we go split up and Paws & Alex began to fight for their lives as they fled some big Bad Nasties crossing a huge rope bridge. I also found myself in hot water as I stupidly took on a column of Grawl bad guys who were trying to break into a Priory camp. I fought them off as best I could (mostly by setting the buggers on fire and applying my mace to their skulls) but had not Paws, ales and several other passing heroes joined in and turned the tide I would have been Grawl food!

As we left the scene of our victory-snatched-from-defeat we passed another Priory camp called Camp Landslide Lee. It was named after their colleague who camped there despite advice to the contrary and seemingly enjoyed a good yodel of a morning. He is missed by his fellow scholars to this day.

Now we were definitely on the road to the personal story point. Except we saw a Svanir running into a cave and decided to investigate. Turns out we’d found a hidden camp full of the objectionable sods and set about showing them the error of the ways with gusto. Any chests of loot we found in the cave were legally seized and can be considered spoils of war, so don’t go starting that!

We left the cave, determined to get to the personal story point… but first a slight detour to a camp to collect a reward and sell some junk in order to lighten my load.

At which point it we all realised it was time to log off as we are all old men with jobs to go to the next day! So we never got into the personal story and yet managed to have an entire session of fun just zooming around responding to the dynamically running world around us. And that, ladies and gentlebumps, is why #GuildWars2 is so bloody amazing ๐Ÿ™‚

8 comments

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚ Ah yes, the journey is so much more fun than actually getting to the point of arrival. I never manage to get to the finaly point when I’m supposed to either, that’s why it takes me forever in a game ๐Ÿ˜€ and I swear GW2 does that on purpose. Next time take a picnic basket and stop at a view point. Have a spot of lunch (I’m told grilled skritt can be quite tasty)….I mean heros need sustenance! ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ That’s why open world games are the ticket! ๐Ÿ™‚ ….and GW2 is definitely the big winner!

      1. Ooooh that sounds like fun! Thief. I’ve never tried thief…..interesting! I’ve been popping in, still stuck in Caladon Forest, love the colours there and I’ve been playing a bit of Skyrim – I love my dragons, guilty as charged! :-p …..and I still have to kill Zhaitan, wonder if they fixed the instance? I don’t think that is a solo dungeon even if they say it is. They just opened it up pretending it’s solo because of all the complaints they got. Ah well! ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

          1. ๐Ÿ™‚ Will do! Might pop in to create one today……am thinking Asura thief – find the little buggers too cute and am sure jumping puzzles with an Asura are definitely much better than with a Nord :-p

Leave a Reply

