Life in Tyria: Like I’ve never been away… only better!

A Quagan ate my Charr!

A Quagan ate my Charr!

Like a warm embrace from a lovely aunt or the the sound of your own kettle boiling after a long holiday, Guild Wars 2 have welcomed me back as if I’d never been away, only this time it’s better because I bring friends!

Friends make GW2. I never thought I’d be in a game where having people to talk to and game with would significantly alter the enjoyment factor but then I go and play two that absolutely need them to get the best experience possible. Imagine a chicken sandwich without a sprinkling of salt. Shudder.

In GW2 I’ve seen the “All the Gs” Guild slow grow from three active people (me, Ian J and Paws) to about 10 and last night I did something I’ve never done before – I stayed online just to chat to the guildies who were in the teamspeak channel. I actually ran around doing I can’t recall what just so I could speak with Susie and Eldaeriel and it was fun! I am beginning to think that as long as the impetus to play doesn’t wane with members of our fledgling family then we could be heading towards having a great deal of group fun once the Heart of Thorns improvements come to guilds – hell! we might even have enough of us to go and claim a guild hall!

From a character viewpoint, I’m really enjoying levelling up my Sylvari ranger and Norn guardian, the latter will prove useful in dungeons, something I got to try out again last weekend with an experienced player who was very patient with Ian and I (thanks Gary!) and I can honestly say I really enjoyed the way we pulled together to coordinate and strengthen our efforts rather than just stand in a huddle and DPS a kneecap to death. More dungeonering is called for, I think 🙂

If you fancy joining us then it can cost you as little as £15 (although the £35 Heart of Thorns version is probably a better investment) and I wrote a guide here: https://plus.google.com/+HeadBurroAntfarm/posts/gnr6MaUE6GY

5 comments

  1. haha yeah, I was just running round doing nothing and chatting too 🙂 Very fun to be in the same game at the same time for once! The GGG team seem absolutely lovely – I’m really enjoying it and just trying to work out how I can play end-game in ESO and play GW2 at the same time… without neglecting Dimzad :O wish me luck 😀 (though once he’s playing fallout 4, it’ll be easier!!)

  2. It is odd how playing an MMO with a group of entertaining people (I was going to say like minded but that would be pushing it too much) is great… even old LOTRO is much more fun when the people your playing with are FUN to begin with, what you actually do becomes less important…
    And grinding away is much more relaxing if you are jaking and jesting with people. I would love to try GW2 but of course the same barriers appear to stop me…money, computer and time… Getting out of Argentina will solve that…just need to escape…

Leave a Reply

