A Burro further muses on his future in a post Power Play Elite Dangerous

We all have ‘tells’, the give away signs that show people what we are thinking. I, for example, am an extremely fiery person and you can tell exactly what I’m thinking from my face and so I am terrible at poker (although, on the plus side, people always know where they stand with me). And my tells don’t stop at my oh-so-open mug – they extend into my gaming too. I’ve just had two weeks off work and whilst they have been busy and insane in equal measures I’m sure I could have put some time into playing had I wanted to but instead I spent the time watching TV and, as of yesterday, playing Left 4 Dead 2 and there’s the tell: Left 4 Dead.

I first heard of Left 4 Dead a tweet from Graham Linehan waaaaaay back in 2008 and from the moment I bought it (from a real shop – I still remember the patient  young lady trying to explain I’d need ‘always on internet’ because of something called Steam) I have been in love with it in a way that only the original Doom has ever come close to. Most games burn bright and short for me, but L4D1 & 2 have been my go to games ever since I first played them and when I tire of an obsession they are the games I find myself playing until a new obsession begins.

And I’ve started playing Left 4 Dead 2 again.

So that’s it for me and Elite Dangerous. Yet Elite Dangerous offers many years of play so why am I backing off? Well that’s simple – boredom. I need more to do in the game and with both the Power Play update failing to deliver anything but mindless grind and the *still* dull, cookie-cutter mission system, I find I need to back away until the devs add the stuff I am looking for. The popular steamer John “Kerrash Landing” Virgo has hinted in his latest steam that the things players are crying out for are being developed for release in August for Gamescon. In my mind this will be the first phase of planetary landings and a first person mode, but like everything Frontier Developments puts out these days it’s impossible to know. I understand their desire not to raise expectations and face player backlash but to provide nothing is, in my view, worse. Still, I have a lot of faith in FD and I’m sure they will have Elite whipped into shape by the end of this year.

Until then I’m planning on shooting lots and lots and lots of zombies and waiting for the release of No Man’s Sky. You know it makes sense.

Hell yes...

Hell yes…

2 comments

Leave a Reply

