Commander’s Log [Cmdr William Gearwright] : [Duval’s Mercy Hospital : [Persephone/Lambardelli’s Legacy] : [3301/30/05]

[Report Summary] Currently recovering from a serious crash in a Persephone hospital. Release date unknown.

[Manifest] n/a.

[Incidents] LRDV Pharos Brightly lost.

[Signed] Cmdr William Gearwright of Antfarm Consolidated, Dulos.


[Private Entry/Decrypted/eckthmp0023-ripa] [embeds enabled] You know that old saying about your life flashing in front of your eyes just before you die? Well for me at least that’s bullshit. For me it was the dash exploding and the sound of my remlok deploying as the entire top of the Pharos’ cockpit was torn open above me. At the time I was just entering the toast rack and the speeding courier’s nacelle ripped me open like I was made of foil. It seems I took a significant blast to the face and chest, the doctors tell me my eyes will grow back in a week or so, but the ejection is what did most of the damage as I bounced off some wreckage and into the docking shield. Apparently brain death is more common than people realise, but I still don’t think I’d recommend it.

Backing up a little, I was heaving into Lambardelli’s Legacy to deliver a hold full of meds for the outbreak relief effort. I was fresh from Diso where I’d been hauling agri-tech in for the Alliance and frankly I was still exhausted from 78UM and Quivira. Something had to give but some rich kid in a brand new Courier smashing into me as I tried to dock was not what I thought was going to happen. The kid got away with nothing but a huge insurance bill but I lost the Pharos, my eyes, both legs below the knees, my whole right arm and portions of my frontal cortex. Fortunately for me the kid’s dad is a high up in the Princess’ court and his insurance has paid for the best medical care available, and given I’m deep in the heart of the Empire right now that means the best across the whole of human space. I’ll be in for a while longer but when I leave I’ll be as good as new, hell! in some cases better. Not only that but I’ll have a new Asp to replace the Pharos and the kid’s dad has had a ship of my choice delivered to Wilson Ring for me, a factory new Diamondback Scout, by way of an apology. All in all I couldn’t have been killed by a nicer chap, really.

The other benefit to my predicament is that convalescence affords a not-inconsiderable time for catching up on current affairs, especially now Galnet has gone round the clock on all platforms (Hell’s Teeth, I’m beginning to hear “Your galaxy in focus!” in my bloody sleep! Still, without it I doubt I’ve have heard about Halsey until I got back to Dulos). Now, I don’t care what anyone says, it’s going to take another bout of brain damage before I believe that that war-monger Hudson didn’t have a hand in Spaceflight One vanishing. On top of that Patreus is still trying to take over the throne in his usual, charmless and openly aggressive manner and damn any poor bastards that get in his way. In favt given the machinations of the Empire, the in-fighting of the Federation, the desperate expansion attempts of the Alliance and the ugly mix of insanity and cruelty of the Independents (i.e. utopian religious freaks and pirate scum) it seems like every bugger and his dog is making a play for power right now. I’ve been in touch with Charybdis (when my messages get past his spam filter, of course) and it seems from his more-guarded-than-usual chat that the lure of a mystery has taken him out into deep space to help with the search for Halsey. To be honest, reading between the lines of his messages that he’s looking into Thargoids. I’m not sure what to make of that. I mean Thargoids! From anyone else I’d assume they were insane, but Char… well let’s just say I hope he’s wrong and leave it at that.

So, out soon(ish) on good-as-new legs with 20/20 eyes and a new ship to play with. I’m heading back to Dulos as soon as the docs sign me out and no doubt the Old Man will have a fair few contracts for me, especially in these uncertain times when every player in the galaxy is trying to fortify and expand to grab more and more power. Still, it pays the fuel bill, doesn’t it.

Leave a Reply

