Commander’s Log [Cmdr William Gearwright] : [ISDV Canonical Whimsy] : [Dulos/Dulos 6/Wilson Ring] : [3301/04/12]

[Report Summary] Back in Dulos under an Antfarm Consolidated light haulage and inter-system recovery contract.

[Manifest] Mostly running small cargo loads around the Dulos 30ly volume.

[Incidents] Nothing to report in Dulos

[Signed] Cmdr William Gearwright of the ISDV Canonical Whimsy (Core Dynamics Eagle Mk2), Antfarm Consolidated of Dulos.


[Private Entry/Decrypted/DDr67yty-RltY3649] [embeds enabled] I dreamt of Lugh again last night. The cockpit was full of molten plastic and rolling fire and the Echo was tumbling wildly, crashing through a field of frozen people spilling out of an exploding transport. I don’t think I need a frelling shrink to tell me the hidden meaning there. Frelling Feds. I ploughed their blood money into an Asp I christened the Pharos Brightly and left the Echo mothballed in Jameson Memorial to tak the Phaors out into the black. She is beautiful, beautiful and fierce but stained so I spent a month running humanitarian aid until I hooked up with a group of traders and helped them run supplies to a series of remote colonies. Eventually our joint routes took me back within kissing range to the edge of the Dulos volume so I left the group and headed back home.

By the time I saw the sunrise over Six I figured I’d been away from my home for months and a lot has changed. The Defence Party are still in charge and running their newly independent system with an an iron fist but the old Green Party are making a small comeback. Most surprising is that the Oluf Worker’s Party has now become the third power in the system and they hold one of the renamed stations, “Saunder’s City”. Actually, the Oluf Reds aren’t the most surprising thing, that honour is taken by the he fact every frakking station has been renamed! Brunton Gateway is now Wilson Ring, named after the DDP leader, Jing Wilson. Richard Brunton was the first frelling human to ever walk on the surface of Six and the DDP just wipe his name off the map for a cheap piece of self-aggrandising political theatre. Frak me!

Still, at least I’m no longer likely to be rounded up by the DDP police and accidentally fall out of an airlock. The Old Man was glad to see me and has been in touch with my family out of system to arrange their passage home, In the meantime he’s put me on some deep system salvage jobs but the fact he’s asked me to spec up “something fast as frak that can go black in an instant” makes me think the “salvage” will be white hot. I don’t mind though, the Old Man doesn’t deal in slaves and as long as I don’t have to kill anyone I’m happy to be sneaking things under the radar for a while.

Right now I need some sleep. I’ve popped the meds so at least if I do dream tonight I’ll not remember them and then tomorrow I can concentrate on my manifest. To be honest, it’s going to be nice to be a can jockey again.

[Upgrades] The Echo I left in Jameson, she’ll be safe there and at some point I’ll hitch a ride out and bring her home. The last thing I did was strip out all the crap I’d put in there for war and she’s a trading vessel once more. I considered ditching her weapons but given I wasn’t that far away from Lave, Leesti, and the Code I decided against it. The Pharos is in Wilson Ring, ready for the Old Man to put me back on large jobs. The Grass was gone, lost in the chaos of the fall of the Greens so I had to start again with the Whimsy but I didn’t mind as it gave me a chance to build an Eagle for something other than killing. I visited the Turir shipyards and spent the last of the Federation combat bonds on upgrading her engines and plant. I reduced the shielding and instead added a cell bank, the idea is that I’ll not be staying around for a fight, I just need to be fast enough, and my shields alive long enough, for me to get the hell out. She has 8 tons of cargo space so I can pick up enough of whatever I am asked to and a 4t fuel tank so I can shift it across a decent volume. I decided against a scoop as there are enough outposts I can refuel at but I did add a heat sink for when I have to hide. If I can’t hide and I have to run then I’ve also fitted a mine layer to seriously frak up anyone on my tail. Again, I’m not looking to kill but I need to get in and out damn fast and after Lugh and,well, that suits me just fine.

Leave a Reply

