Mobile Me… The Hunt for the Perfect Phone!

This is such a First World Problem but then, as this is a blog about wasting my life playing computer games, please feel free to register you vote of disgust here

My problem is that I can’t find a new phone.

There’s nothing really wrong with my current one except it’s old. It still does what I want it to – browse the web, send emails, take pictures, film stuff and make the occasional phone call – but I can’t shake the feeling I want a new one. Now partly this is down to the desire for a new toy to play with, but there is also the very real (1st World – see here if you’ve forgotten how to complain) problem that I running out of app space on it. I don’t have that many apps but the fact Google make all of theirs unable to move to the SD card means I’m constantly having to delete apps to install their updates.

But I can’t find a new bloody phone.

Oh, I can find a phone obviously, just not one I want and it’s really grating away at me (complain here). I don’t ever want an Apple anything in my life and I can’t bring myself to even consider a Windows phone. I’m an Android lad through and through but the choices in Android come down to the following:

  • Over-sized, over-priced, bloat-ware filled horrors from Samsung, HTC, etc.
  • Poxy under-powered pieces of crap from everyone and his dog
  • The Nexus line from Google which don’t have any bloody SD card slot. Ever. FFS.

Do I want the latest slab from Samsung that will try to monitor my very bowel movements before I’ve even had them? No. Do I want a tiny piece of crap that fell out of a cracker? Take a guess. Do I want a Google-experience only Nexus. Yes! With 16GB memory and no SD slot? What? NO! Stick it up your jacksie! Sideways!

After those options it all get’s a little pointless even looking.

So what do I want from a phone? Well it’s simple really. I have a Galaxy S2 and I like it a lot. It’s fast and light and feels good to use. I want a phone the shape and size of the S2 but with more power, a much, much better battery and none of the Samsung shite I never, ever use on there. And I want it to have the voice activation of the Moto X. And some fancy NFC capability like the Skip 2. And a whole heap more app space because I’m sick of deleting Maps, G+ and Chrome every time Google Now needs an update. Oh, and I want it for no more than £150. Now someone snap to it and make it so before I have to come out there and start slapping you all senseless.

bestphoneever

I’m the best phone ever. Stop whining and buy me, you loser.

4 comments

  1. “I can’t bring myself to even consider a Windows phone”

    Your loss. 🙂 Apart from app quantity they are so far ahead of iOS and Android that it hurts.

    I actually think the resurrected Blackberries of a year or two back are the second-best out there after Windows Phone, but their app ecosystem is even worse.

      1. What stuff are you talking about on Google? I have my mail, calendar and contacts all on Gmail et al and no problem syncing them with my Windows Phone.

        1. I use G+ for family comms, Hangouts for the same, Google Photos for all family holiday/event pictures and films. This is across my family spread all over the UK & beyond. I use Google Docs for al household stuff (banking, budgeting, building the house extension). At home I have a PC but never use MS Office on it, instead I Remote into work so use it on my work machine whilst for home stuff I use a Chromebook or Android on phone & tablet.

          Bottom line is that I have no need to swap from Google to MS for anything as I don’t use it at all for anything other than work and to play games on my PC (hopefully a Steambox will remove that need one day). To actively change to MS from Google would require some effort, maybe not as much as I imagine but certainly far more than will make it worthwhile.

          Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t hate MS in any shape or form. I, like most people, have had issues at some point with Windows (ME, I’m glaring at you!) but it’s more that when I was moving to smartphones I had four options:

          1) BB – I as tempted but at the time you had to pay extra just for data connection so that was a no-no. As BB went downhill fast just after I got my first smartphone I think I made a good call there.
          2) Apple – My only dislike of Apple are cost and the ‘locked down’ nature of the systems. I like to be in control of my stuff as much as possible, even if this is often an illusion. Thanks to a kind aunty my son has an iPad mini and although he loves it to bits, I hate using it for reasons that are sometimes hard to define. Still, I could never have afforded an iPhone contract back then.
          3) Android – this was just starting off and although tempted by the G1, I instead went for the far more attractive (and powerful sounding)…
          4) Windows-powered Xepria X1. The only trouble here was Sony opted for the mobile edition of Windows 6.5 and it was a fugly pig. Almost nothing worked on it and although I loved the phone I grew to hate the way it worked/crashed.

          So this coloured my view of MS on a phone. It was a long time after this that Win 7 came out and in that time I’m moved onto the HTC Desire which was a wonderful android phone. Android has just got better and better for me so there has never been a need to ever go back to Windows, no matter how much better MS have no made their mobile experience.

          No, unless Google fuck up so badly it can been seen from the moon, I will only be getting Android (and now Chrome) powered hardware from here on in. I just don’t need Windows any more.

Leave a Reply

