Life in Tyria: Guilds and stuff

I’ve just been asked to leave a guild. Well, actually I was asked to represent 90% of the time or leave. I choose to leave because if I have to dedicate all of my precious time to one group of people in a game where the ability to join multiple groups of people is central then I don’t want to be with those people. Now of course the choice of 90% rep-time is up them but it’s a new rule that wasn’t there when I was invited to join so I feel cheated, as though we have both wasted our time and I have wasted all the influence points I ground out in events.

Sigh.

So now I’m back to being in just two guilds (well, three but one of those is mine and I only opened it for the 50 bank slot facility), one being the Celt group I joined way back in 2012 and the other is the Crimson Ashes group I joined recently for roleplaying. The Celt group is super casual friendly and full of really nice people who take me on guild runs, and the Ashes are a nice bunch too but both have a similar issue I’m increasingly having problems with – they don’t seem to like the Living World stories.

Why is this a problem for me? Because I like the Living World content and I want to share my time with people who do. With the Celts I can share guild events and dungeon runs so it doesn’t matter too much, but with the Ashes it’s all about roleplaying and storytelling and yet they dislike the main storytelling medium in the game. Now I know that LW season 1 had problems but for a RP guild to turn off from it means there is a whole world of content I can’t explore with them and therefore if I go off and take part then I’m not doing stuff with them. And I can’t find a way to square that circle.

Ye gods but being in guilds is harder then I thought.

2 comments

  1. So why don’t you play the game the way you want to enjoy it? I understand that it would be more fun with those guildmates, but, unfortunately, through personal experience, I found that you can’t really have it all. Being in a guild is good for the ‘big’ stuff, but otherwise you are better solo or with one or two friends who can run around with you and who have the same interests as you do. RP guilds always seem to have their own agenda they don’t always link their stories to the main story of the game, which I think is a shame. Each to his own, I guess.

    At the end of the day what’s important is how you spend your game time, not a good idea to have that game time spent according to others.

    Hope you eventually find that good balance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

