Roleplaying in Guild Wars 2: Meeting the Family…

I was hoping to have written up a follow up to my ‘Humble Beginnings’ post by now but alas, I need to sleep in between work and playing GW2 😀

When I last left off I’d met some of the Crimson Ashes Guild in the Maiden’s Whisper and had been invited to an IC meeting with the rest of the Guild at the same place the next day. I only just made it after tearing down the motorway from work, but make it I did and I walked Jurak up into the pub – right past all the Guildies who were watching my with what I can only imagine was bemused pity as I strode on by. Luckily the same player who had met me both the previous night and in the Lomar’s pass camp was on hand to save the day (and my blushes).

gw570

Victoria introduced me to the group, including who I think is the boss, Craywin (although they may have no overall leader, it’s hard to tell) and we all chatted in character for a while. In the end they agreed to give Jurak (and me, lest I forget) a trial period. Jurak was invited him on a beast hunt deep into Svanir held territory whilst I was told that whilst attendance was casual they do expect active participation a couple of times a week, which seems both fair and manageable to me. They came across like a nice, friendly bunch. I’ve not been in many guilds in my gaming life (this is number three) but I’ve always been lucky to pick friendly ones. My only complaint in the past has been the last of a cohesive narrative for the group to exist, something to hang the whole suspension of disbelief on. Yes it’s nice to chat in the guild channel about the game and the wider real world and that is invaluable, but it can’t (for me at least) be all there is. I think that in Crimson Ashes I’ve found something really special – a group with which to grow and share stories.

10 comments

  1. That’s really cool! My guild eventually disbanded and GW2 just seems to have lost the magic for me. But, hey, will be looking forward to the stories you get to tell! 🙂

      1. At the moment I’m playing SWTOR. I’ve always been a Star Wars Fan. I enjoy the game because of the story. I played Skyrim and still do and Kingdoms of Amalur. Now I’m waiting for WildStar (MMO). I’m hoping it’s going to be my “happy game”. I’ve played in a couple of betas and it has been a blast. It’s a game that doesn’t take itself too seriously, love the art style and it’s sense of humor.

          1. Unfortunately, every MMO has it’s grind. The trick is disguising that grind in buckets of entertainment. I hate grind too, GW2 has it’ s grind – no grind, no fancy weapons and armour – that’s how she rolls. I figured I’d subscribe for as long as the grind doesn’t feel like it’s grind. Then once a game becomes a chore it’s time to leave, but in the meantime if I’m having fun and it gives me that “happy feeling” then it’s good! 🙂 ……. and WildStar is so colourful, funny and silly sometimes that I actually found myself giggling through some of the quests. I’ve never really played a game that made me giggle! 😀 ……and when you think of it, why do we play games? 🙂

            1. You’re totally right – the last over that made giggle was Borderlands 2 which looks and feels pretty like Wildstar. The time I ran into the twin brothers Boom & Baum (I think that’s what they were called) I cried laughing at their intro 😀

            2. So far I’ve found the grind in GW2 for weapons and armour unnecessary simply because you only need it for serious raiding in the Fractals and I’ve never been in one. Also the high end stuff is so fucking ugly it hurts my eyes 😀

              Still, to buy top end PvE stuff takes a buttload of gold and that takes some work 😦

              1. Yep, and the idea of having to run dungeons over and over again for cool loot just doesn’t do it for me. Another thing that really bothered me about GW2 was the storyline. I love lore, but the fact that to finish my story I have to group up with other people just killed it for me. I didn’t want to do MY story with other people and hence I got to lvl 80 and couldn’t kill Zhaitan on my own. The people in my guild couldn’t really be bothered as they had done theirs quite a while before me (I take my time in games, I love to stop and smell the roses 🙂 ) Other people standing around the dungeon didn’t want to do the story mode.

                Also to get map completion you have to get the points of interest and vistas in WvW and so if your server doesn’t have control of the map then it will take you just forever to get those points.

                I enjoy teaming up with other players to do quests and tasks, but I don’t enjoy having to count on those same players to achieve major points in a game, i.e story, map completion and so, unfortunately, the game started losing the magic. 😦

                1. Aye, good points all. I’ve been thinking a lot about long term appeal & GW2 and have a post half-brewing in my head. Partly I think opening up the world with tolls for RPers would help but I need to think about it more…

Leave a Reply

