A funny thing happened to me after writing about the funny thing that happened to me on the way to the camp yesterday…

With a title like that you just know this post is going to be a doozy, right? Well buckle in because I have a loooot of humble pie to eat. Oh, and spoilers ahead so you’ve been warned.

After having a right old pop at the final Scarlet Briar fight in Guild Wars 2, I was listening to the rather excellent Guild Wars Reporter podcast (part of the always excellent MMO Reporter podcast family) and heard the two presenters talking about a ‘secret backdoor’ to the final fight. My ears pricked up. It seems that there is a special teleporter that you can enter only if you are wearing the backpack you have to make with pieces found during the LA invasion event. Once you enter it you are taken to the very final instance bypassing the messy zerg-fest fight with the holograms. The instance is single player only and the same for everyone regardless of their route to it so it means that even if, like me, you were struggling to even get to the hologram fight let alone past it there is a route to the end that is totally do-able and gives you the same ending as everyone else. I bloody love this idea! Nice one Arenanet!

I built the basic backpack (cosmetically the best version in my opinion, the more advanced versions have the ugly leg/wing things that I hate) in the mystic forge using the help and guidance of the guild. We fought and I killed her in a pretty easy fashion, which I liked as the battles with the Champions and Knights in LA had been testing enough, and I was rewarded with a very cool cut scene of the next dragon waking up.

And then I was back in  LA with a new tag and a warm sense of closure. As an after thought I decided to tackle another Knight nearby for one last zergy fun fight and see if it dropped any sweet loot. Only thing is that when we killed the bugger all three attunement circles opened and before I knew what I was doing I was in the hologram fight again only this time we won and I was back in the very same easy finishing fight with Scarlet! After complaining I couldn’t do it I managed to do it twice on the run! And I done it twice again today! The hologram fight is actually quite easy, well, not easy but not as complicated as I first thought and a whole heap more fun.

So the lesson here is don’t blog in a bad mood. Somehow I don’t think this is a lesson I’m going to learn in a hurry ;D

Oh, no update on the RP guild yet. I’ll have to contact them. Expect an update. Maybe in character 😀

2 comments

Leave a Reply

