Mobile me… Rooting, casting, editing and uploading for fun and (no) profit!

I’ve had a busy old day and no mistake. It started off with me rooting my old V1 Nexus, a nerve-wracking experience I’m in no hurry to go through again but thanks to this guide it wasn’t really all that hard. Still, oy vey.

Once I had rooted my N7, restored a backup and reinstalled my apps, I installed a nifty little app called SCR Screen Recorder that needed the rooted access in order that it can record whatever is happening on the screen.

I fired up Survivalcraft, found out that I’d forgotten to back up my worlds and therefore lost them all including Antland! Oh well, these things are transitory anyway. I recorded the first two and a half minutes of my creation of a new world just to see how the software worked. The file turned out to be 150Mb at 720p which is a little on the large side.

So I used an app called Video Trim to shrink the file size down to a more manageable 30Mb, although I’m not happy with the drop in quality so a little more practice is needed, I feel. Any tips on this stuff will be gratefully received.

Uploading to YouTube couldn’t have been easier, and I just shared it directly from the gallery on the Nexus and in seconds it was up on my channel for all the world to see, like this 😀

I’m not sure what my plans are, but I’d like to film some of my son’s builds and post them here and on his blog here. We’ll see, we’ll see…

2 comments

Leave a Reply

