It’ll never catch on, part 528,913…

It must have been 5 years ago. I was sat on a bus struggling to get my precious Xperia 1 to let me blog. I had tweeted about my frustrations, venting how hard it was to wrangle a post out of the device because the app WP had released didn’t cover the god-awful Windows 6.5 Sony had crippled their wonderful device with. My thoughts were picked up by a fellow blogger and one of her regular commentors mocked my desire to blog on the go. He found the very idea that someone would actually enjoy blogging on a phone laughable.

And yet here I am, 5 years down the line and with 99% of all my posts are written on my tablet or phone, which goes to prove that the internet is becoming more and more mobile for me all the time. That and what an enormous tit that commentor was, but then of course he always was.

8 comments

  1. I remember when I had one of the first laptops at my place of employment, and at least one person later admitted that he’d thought “phht, how silly, they’ll never catch on”.

    Now, of course, they are obsolete, and one just uses one’s phone. 🙂

    1. Heh, I have a crapton of old lappies here, they always so disappointing in such a short space of time. Even my recent Asus Aspire One netbook runs like a cow next to this tablet. I like the look of the From ebooks though…

  2. I have an ASUS Transformer tablet which comes with a keyboard dock. Oh my goodness I *love* blogging on that thing! Sure, it can get annoying if I hit the touchpad by accident, but that is quickly made up for by the fact that I can blog anywhere I like. I’m not sure I could brave phone yet, though. I have a notorious hate/hate relationship with my keyboard on that thing 😛

    1. Oooo, a lovely machine! I was seriously tempted but the Nexus 7 won out on price in the end. I love the swype-like keyboard on the N7, but can’t stand the actual swype keyboard on my S2 phone as it crashes the whole phone all the time. Another reason I wish I’d had bought the Nexus 4 instead of the S2 🙂

      1. Ha! I have the S3 so you can probably understand my frustration. A friend ended up putting me onto an app called Swiftkey3 and it has made my phone messages a lot less riddled with mistakes! I could never get the hang of Swype, but this app allows you to import blogs and stuff so it’s prediction can be more accurate to your writing style, which is pretty cool and has made me not hate my phone so much. Lucky for it, because I probably would have thrown it against a wall and went back to my crappy little HTC Wildfire 😛

        1. LOL! I know that feeling well! the S2 just seems to freeze and restart far more than my old (and beloved HTC Desire). In the end I found removing the factory installed Swype stopped 95% of all crashes. I have had Swiftkey too, right from early days and always fall deeply in love with it for about 3 weeks and then something odd starts to happen – it starts to get less & less tolerant of my typos and each message needs more and more attention to fix it until I simply delete and swear I’ll never use it again. The stock swypey-like keyboard on the N7 is a work of genius and I would pay good money to get it on the S2 rright now ;-D

Leave a Reply

