The creativity of a child…

I only put Minecraft Pocket Edition on my tablet after I returned home from work and found number one child had fooled the Good Lady Antfarm into buying it for him on her tablet. I decided to buy it on mine so I could both help him but also ensure there was nothing in there that I needed to worry about. Luckily, for the missus and I at least, there was no online element to the game. Indeed, the only multiplayer aspect is by two or more players joining a game on a Wi-Fi network which meant that we, me and The Boy, could play together!

From the get-go he’s loved the creative mode more than the survival mode, I think it’s the fact that the survival game is all about long-term planning with delayed rewards whereas the creative game gives you all the fun stuff up front and allows you to build without the restrictions of needing to mine and manage supplies. He set his first world up and called it Tattyland – I have no idea what it means, he just liked the sound of it and this perfectly encapsulates the difference between my ability to build and his: I stop to ask questions whilst he just builds what he likes, and it’s this naturalistic approach has resulted in some amazing creations ๐Ÿ˜€

Last week, in some father/son bonding time during some time off work we fired up the tablets and he gave me a tour of Tattyland and honestly I was blown away! I had no idea just how much he’d built since we set the world up at the start of last December! I took loads of pictures and here are just some of the things a 6 year old has built in MCPE with minimal to no adult help ๐Ÿ™‚

image

This is an aerial view of the most developed quarter of Tattyland. This shows some of his earliest builds when he was experimenting with laying walkways across water and fencing off areas of both land and water to create lagoons. He also built an entire series of houses with complex room structures and really interesting material usage (the entirely glass block house is brilliant!)

image

This tower came after the houses and was his first fort. In building it he discovered he could build higher and higher as well as section of the inside into different floors. He put in bedrooms for the soldiers and lookout stations on the roof as well as secret doors and stairs all over the place ๐Ÿ™‚

image

Recently this motif of freestanding portals/doorways has been popping up all over and I can’t help but think how architecturally assured such a division of space is, and he does it without thinking!

image

image

image

These complex builds are a combination of houses, passageways, secret tunnels and other builds such as gardens and a pub. They all put me in mind of the Fallingwater House ๐Ÿ™‚

image
This is the tower he built after he discovered he could layer up coloured wool and it serves no other purpose than to be ruddy huge ๐Ÿ˜€

image
This is The Boy atop a tower he built as I flew around taking these snaps. Beyond the endless mining, beyond the cartoony baddies and the need to farm sheep & wheat, Minecraft is a wonderful tool that can allow a 6 year old kid to build some amazing creations to show his seriously impressed old man, and for that alone it’s well worth the ยฃ5 it costs ๐Ÿ˜€

8 comments

  1. That is amazing! I am excited and terrified thinking about what the world is going to be like when it’s full of grownups who were playing Minecraft at six… ๐Ÿ™‚

    1. Cheers Dale ๐Ÿ™‚ The Boy didn’t know about this so I’ve just shown him the post and he’s swollen with pride now. He’s also really interested in looking at architectural design websites and I’ve had to promise that tonight I’ll show him some more buildings & maybe even make him his own blog (which I’ll have to write with him until he’s old enough). Maybe we have a budding architect on our hands ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. amazing creations – you would never guess he is only 6! perhaps I should hire him to revamp my cold war style prisons ๐Ÿ˜‰

    hope to see more of his buildings ๐Ÿ™‚

    I have the pocket edition for my tablet too, my little boy (4) loves it, but he’s still at the ‘ooh destroying blocks is the funnest thing ever’ and I then have to rescue him from very deep holes ๐Ÿ˜‰ although he may get that from me to be fair, I did once spend a whole evening blowing stuff up with TNT – too much fun ๐Ÿ˜‰

    1. Hiya mate – thanks for the comment and sorry for the delay in my reply!

      The Boy still loves blowing stuff up – he’s discovered the Red Matter Bomb in the Minecraft mod Voltz and has been having great fun opening worm-holes in the middle of villages, the little maniac ๐Ÿ˜€ But his desire to build is stronger now he’s getting older (he’ll be 7 in the summer). I’ve now started a blog for him – a 5 minute task that somehow mirrored the Red Matter Bomb with my Sat night being the village and the red matter explosion being the combined failure of several IT systems at once – the less said the better but I think I invented two new swear words…

      We haven’t posted anything yet, but we will ๐Ÿ™‚

    2. GAAAAAAHHHHHH! I hate IT at times! The damn system just ate my comment!!!

      Anyhoow, thanks for yours, sorry for the delay in mine, The Boy loves blowing things up too (the Red Matter Bomb in the middle of a village in the MC mod Boltz is a fave) but is loving building too. I’ve set him up a blog – expect stuff soon ๐Ÿ™‚

      The last comment was much longer – bloody IT.

Leave a Reply

