#LOTRO: Back to the drawing board…

What a week. My sword mate Eventure (who played Everwyn with Keltorn) has left the game to deal with RL issues so I am once again friendless…

Ranhold – Man, Champion, Historian, Master Expert Weaponsmith & Master Scholar. Level 42

Ranhold did a fair bit this week but his much anticipated fight with Longbough the Ent was a damp squib as the instance proved to be broken. I’ve reported the bug (the final boss bad guy, a huge huron, can not be engaged in battle) so no doubt I’ll get to do it one day 🙂 Other than that he’s been completing more wonderful Everdim quests and moving up the reputation tables for both the Wardens of Annuminas and the Elves of Rivendell. He also splashed out and spent about 5gp on scholar items so he could get back to crafting (hence the Rivendell rep increase) but it’s only temporary and he really needs to move to the Misty Mountains to get more of the items he needs. Aside from that he’s just spent a little time making spikes and fire-oils for Keltorn.

Gorfrik – Dwarf, Hunter, Armourer, Master Metalsmith & Artisan Tailor. Level 28

Gorfrik has been out and about in Evendim trying to collect gold, but it’s slim pickings and no mistake. Still, I have a shed-full of Rich Iron ore now which should offset Ranhold’s AH splurge 😀

Nimlarn – Elf, Minstrel, Woodsman & Master Expert Woodworker. Level 22

Apart from making a fist carving class item for Keltorn (I now wish I’d made shield so I’ll change that tonight) and briefly flirting with the idea of making some Level 20 weapons for him as well, Nim’s been as quiet as the grave.

Hocko – Hobbit, Burglar, Tinkerer & Master Jeweller. Level 20

I’m sorry to say I didn’t get Hocko out at all, although he’s building up a nice reserve of gems from my others guys must be almost as rich as old Bilbo by now 😀

Rolcko – Hobbit, Guardian, Yeoman, Supreme Farmer & Master Cook. Level 30

Apart from skirmishing a few times, this old warrior has had a quiet week.

Keltorn – Man of Bree, Warden, Explorer. Level 14

Ahhhh, Keltorn, my new best guy 😀 I’m still having a blast with my Warden even if I have yet to find a system to help me remember all the gambit combos 🙂 Unfortunately my playmate has left so I’m not following the Epic Story with him now meaning his tales might end very soon. Instead I’m now going to level him as quickly as possible so he can collect ore and wood from all over the place for my other guys to craft with. Still, I will miss the structured group experience I had with Eve a lot.

I have been writing about Keltorn’s adventures here.

Elsewhere…

Nothing much really. Loving my Champ’s Ardour stance and hating how many steps there are in cooking recipes. Still finding and killing Rares but starting to realise the sapphire shards I’ve collected from them are pretty worthless, but that is the subject of another post…

4 comments

  1. Let me know if you get confirmation on that bug. I can remember there is a trick with that fight, but it has been long enough that I can’t remember what it is!

  2. Cheers mate – as soon as I read that I did a quick google and POW! you are right – run up the tree and attack (this is the point where I can then no longer attack and assumed a bug), then back down to the troll to attack the roots again and then back up to the tree – repeat once more and the tree dies then back to teach the troll the error of its ways…

    I have to say, this up-down-up-down attack was really not obvious from the instance but now I know I shall check the chat log and quest guide to see if I just missed a small “now run back down” notice.

Leave a Reply

