#LOTRO: Crafting, Crafting and more bloody Crafting…

Well, apart from Ranhold, the new guy Keltorn has well and truly put everyone in the shade and reduced them down to mere crafting machines this week…

Ranhold – Man, Champion, Historian, Master Expert Weaponsmith & Master Scholar. Level 42
Ranhold moved a little further along the path of the Epic Storyline now and is all but finished in the enchanting but dangerous Trollshaws (his level has been slowly creeping up too and is now just over 42 and a half). His next step is to meet Gloin up in the Misty Mountains and whilst I’m happy he’s heading off to their fabled heights it is yet another move that is taking me further away from my desire to see Evendim so I’ve taken (just now, as I type this in fact) the decision to put the epic back on ice and head over to complete all the wonderful challenges that await me in the land of Annuminas. Watch this space!

Gorfrik – Dwarf, Hunter, Armourer, Master Metalsmith & Artisan Tailor. Level 23
Gorfrik has had one trip out to gather ores from Kingsfell but apart from that he’s been crafting armour for Keltorn and Everwyn. As I wanted it all to be critted to give our newest heroes the kind of fighting chance Ranhold never had he ran out of Common flax pretty quickly and the prices in the AH are insane! (150sp for 1 common flax! Fek off!). Luckily some kinmates helped out as did Everwyn, but as the crit rate for Gorfrik seems to be lower than the others I knew I’d need a lot. Keltorn has had to go out harvesting and poor Rolcko has become a skirmish slave, daily battling all manner of foul creatures just so he can spend his hard earned marks on a small handful of fibre he posts to Gorfrik – it’s been a real grind but worth it 🙂

Nimlarn – Elf, Minstrel, Woodsman & Journeyman Woodworker. Level 22

Nimlarn has had another quiet week – in truth I can’t see me playing him until after RoI unleashes the massive class changes on him. After that he may even stand a good chance of being a skirmisher, who knows.

Hocko – Hobbit, Burglar, Tinkerer & Master Jeweller. Level 20

Beyond crafting two sets of critted bling for Keltorn and Everwyn, Hocko has had a very quiet week indeed. Again, I will bring this guy out more after RoI I think but as his skirmishing skills are limited when solo I will be keeping this lad for grouping only.

Rolcko – Hobbit, Guardian, Yeoman, Supreme Farmer & Master Cook. Level 28

Rolcko has hard at work all week – skirmishing like a demon, working the AH like a pro and cooking like, well, a cook. This lad is without doubt the backbone of Team Burro and without him the whole enterprise would collapse! I have to say that out of all my guys this one is the one I enjoy skirmishing with the most – especially with his above level bad-ass DPS-crazy soldier helper. I’ve done more in a week of skirmishing with Rol than in all the months Ranhold has been able to skirmish. He’s brutal, efficient and bloody good fun.

Keltorn – Man of Bree, Warden, Explorer. Level 12

Keltorn, barely a week old, is fast becoming my new obsession. Partly it’s his amazing combat style, partly it’s because I’m actually giving this guy a working RP background and writing up his tales in an RP fashion, but mostly it’s because I get to play with someone else and that is always fun! Don’t get me wrong, I like soloing – I can’t imagine running Ranhold any other way. It’s just that I also like going through it with someone else too – and seeing as Eve and I share a sense of humour about the game and aren’t playing for bragging rights or engaged in a pissing contest with the rest of the world, it’s turning out to be great fun indeed 🙂 You can follow Keltorn’s account of his journey from Bree-land defender to Middle-Earth warrior here.

Elsewhere…

Nothing much really. I’m still exploring and loving the cosmetic wardrobe options (Ranhold is making a lot of dyes) and I’ve had to fork out to increase my shared storage from 60 to 70 slots, but other than that it’s all been about grinding, whether that be gathering ores, fighting for marks or simply making armour for Keltorn and Everwyn. Happy days 🙂

Leave a Reply

