New Netbook, but what next?

Righto folks, I’ve bought myself a netbook and I need some help. It’s an Acer Aspire One D255 Dual Core with Windows 7 starter and I’d like to know what the bloody chuff I should be doing with it first 🙂

  • Should I keep windows 7 or move to EasyPeasy or MeeGo or Ubuntu?
  • Do I need a virus killer?
  • Is Firefox or Chrome better?
  • What software would you recommend?
  • What SL clients work on them (so far I’ve heard that Pheonix runs pretty well)?

Anything else you think I should know?

9 comments

  1. Chrome bogged me down like nothing else so I stick to Firefox with Adblock Plus. Yes you need a viruskiller, I’d advise Avast Antivirus (but in gamer mode – no interrupting screens telling you it has updated).

  2. I’ve just been initiated into using both Windows7 and LinuxMint, each is on a different HD. So…

    # Should I keep windows 7 or move to EasyPeasy or MeeGo or Ubuntu?
    Can you partition your HD? and have both OS? Windows7 seems very stable and has a Mac-like ease of use (this from a hard-core Maccie)

    # Do I need a virus killer?
    Windows yes, Linux no

    # Is Firefox or Chrome better?
    Chrome works great on Linux.

    # What SL clients work on them
    I use LL v2 and Kirsten S21 on the Windows system. On Linux I use Kirsten S20.

    Avast Antrivirus is free for Windows, and also use CC Cleaner. Linux you don’t need such things *but* you need a degree of knowledge about code/Terminal use OR a geeky friend 🙂

    HTH

  3. Ubuntu Netbook looks fab. Join the relevant forum and you’ll be fine re skillz 🙂 even I have managed to work things out for myself using Forums.

    PS: hope you CAN partition your drive.

  4. I am also using AOD, it is a great netbook. But I have switched back to Windows XP SP3, as Windows 7 makes it a little lame. I’m also having Ubuntu 10.04 installed inside Windows XP. They are both great on it. Now I’m a big fan of Avira, so I recommend it for your anti virus.

Leave a Reply

