New Library & Rail Tunnel in Steelhead

A week or more ago I took one of my early morning rides out of St Helens and into Steelhead proper (I was looking for a store to rent, but more of that another time) when I happened across some exciting additions to the city. First off I was very excited to see that work has started on the ambitious under sea railway tunnel to link the old 17 to the steamlands.
Steelheads New Rail Tunnel_001

I don’t know what the captain of the Clockhaven Queen thinks about  it, but I can’t imagine he’s pleased… Still, the tunnel is an architectural marvel!
Steelheads New Rail Tunnel_004

And speaking of architectural marvels I note that work has finished on the new public library.
Steelheads New Public Library_001

It’s a grand old affair and real feather in out city’s cap, but I will miss the old library and its gardens…
Steelhead Public Library Photography Exhibiton_006

Pop over to Steelhead and take a look for yourself: http://slurl.com/secondlife/Steelhead/122/184/25

p.s. I found this photo of the old train station area from December 2007 – shows how much Lunar & Tensai have developed it in three years (hat tip to Krystine Qinan and her brilliant photostream):
Steelhead Train Station and Shops

Leave a Reply

