First Day in Inworldz

Well, I’m made the leap. I’ve taken the first step. I’ve gone forth, boldly. I’ve… oh, alright, I registered for Inworldz and went in for the first time last night. Jeez! You guys have no sense of drama!

Anyhoos, the registration was easy, the download was painless (31Mb – a little bigger and slower than SL or KirstenLee’s V2) and the log in was fine. So far, so SL. Hell, even the look of the place was SL (I was pleasantly surprised to see windlight used so the world looked just a lovely as SL). It was funny using the Inworldz viewer as it’s based on LL’s V1 viewer and although I’ve been using KirstenLee’s V2 for weeks now (and quite liking it) I have to say that V1 is simply nicer. I don’t know what it is, but it looks and feels less crowded and noisy and busy. Sigh, it really showed me how much work V2 has to do to catch up, if the Lab will ever try to. Anyhoo, I digress.

Upon arrival I was greeted by a volunteer – at this point I was still a cloud as I hadn’t realised I needed to open my inv and wear the basic shape, skin & hair. I remained a cloud for quite sometime before this occurred to me. I tried several relogs and was about to call it a night when a tweet from my mate Violet Faulds told me she was logging in to meet me. Meet we did and we had a great chat for half an hour before I had to leave. Violet logged out too but just as Salazar logged in – honestly Sal, it was nothing personal 😉

So, here for your viewing pleasure are pictures from my very first day in a new world. This is more than I ever did in SL where I didn’t know I could take pics for six months and have since deleted all of the ones I did take – donkey!

EDIT (16th June 10): I’m still HeadBurro Antfarm in Inworldz – friend me if you are there or come in 🙂

Here I am 30 seconds in with the helpful volunteer – I’m still a cloud at this point.
First time in InWorldz_001

Here I was in a random sim (it was a garden & plant shop – very nice too) and it shows how like SL it is with nice graphics, etc.
First time in InWorldz_002

Here I am lonely on a rock just before Violet came to rescue me 🙂 Gorgeous Windlight sunset!
First time in InWorldz_005

Here I am with violet – I’m the cloud and she’s the noob looking av with freebie clothes 🙂
First time in InWorldz_006

When I finally realised I have to wear my shape & skin I also remembered how I’d removed my shirt in an attempt to kick-start the Edit Appearance mode. It didn’t but it did show everyone I was a lady with white nipples. must be a circulation problem, poor love.
First time in InWorldz_008

And this is the current me – totally default Runthie 😀 A trip to Yadni’s freebie place is in order, me thinks 🙂
First time in InWorldz_010

15 comments

  1. Ohh ANOTHER world to peck about in. I think it’s about time I figured out how to get my feathers in a form I can reuse on other grids.

  2. So this is where the “cool kids” are hiding now is it? I think I should be able to manage the prim parts of me but the animations are beyond my ken..

    Maybe I should IM the creator and plead for help!

    1. Heh, hanging out may be a big strong but the winds are blowing out of SL at the moment – many oldbies are thinking about leaving and I’m with them. I joined SL as a creative playground, not as a money making venture for M Linden. I have nothing against the man or the pursuit of money… well, I do, but I know it makes the world go round etc. so what can I do. In the end I don’t like the direction of SL and I’m looking into alternatives – future-proofing my hobby as much as I can against either SL folding or becoming a place I don’t want to be.

      As for IMing the creator, I’m going to do the same about my gazelle skin & horns 🙂

  3. Ohh, I’m in there as Marrant Vita… I haven’t posted about it yet on my blog but I intend to…

    it seems like a good place to hang out and meet people… I’m still trying to learn to build there since a lot of my tools from SL aren’t available 😦 Loopz and Puppeteer not as a money making venture but because I like to make my own stuff…

    anyway.. it’s a brave new world!!! No

    hope I see you there!

  4. Well I think you just talked me into a project.

    It would be nice to (as @ilianexsi said) “look more like myself. “

    1. Totally agree – I’d like to be able to take my av with me. Sal’s managed it, but he’s (as he would say) old school and made his av and is therefore both the owner and in control of it. As I bought mine, I have to rely on the kindness of strangers… unless I learn Photoshop or GIMP really bloody quickly 😀

  5. Ohh, I’m in there as Marrant Vita… I haven’t posted about it yet on my blog but I intend to…

    it seems like a good place to hang out and meet people… I’m still trying to learn to build there since a lot of my tools from SL aren’t available 😦 Loopz and Puppeteer not as a money making venture but because I like to make my own stuff…

    anyway.. it’s a brave new world!!!

    hope I see you there!

  6. Ha ha love the Ruthed look and you were laughing at my builders body the other night 🙂 I havn’t seen too much of Inworldz yet After crashing about 6 or 7 times aswell as not being able to move and that was with my settings all on low I might of left it for a while but I gave it one more try and tp’d over to an empty sim Everything worked fine there. I guess there were just too many people tp in to one place . I even bumped into Sal which was a nice surprise. It was quite a thrill to be reborn again Ruthed and lacking the comfort of a full inventory. It does have that feel , sort of a lot more free and there’s a buzz about the place rather than that feeling that you’re trespassing on corporate land maybe everyone should join hands and wear a flower in their hair :)Anyhows I’m definitely going to check it out some more. Far out!!!

    1. Hehe, you looked great as a huge builder with a beautiful lady head (/me weeps at the memory). And I kept my promise – no photos were taken.

      I had great performance in Inworldz, but then I didn’t do much or go anywhere. At one point I had 90 fps! I’m sure that won’t last as I’ve heard too many folks stating it can be laggy & unstable, and I have too many memories of SL in 06/07 to disbelieve them 🙂

      As for a flower in my hair, I’d rather have one in my fur but I’m back to being human again 😦

  7. Burro! You have to come take a peek at my sim there! Name is Johnny Night. Sim is Amethyst Isle, otherwise known as the Medieval Village 🙂

    1. You betchya! Wear your basic shape & skin in Inv to stop being a cloud and git to the freebie place to look less of a noob – I now look less noob and more knob though, so beware 🙂

Leave a Reply

