Mutations: Chapter 4 – A Wonderful Gift!

There was a knock at the door, a quick hard rap followed by hurried footsteps on the wooden steps leading down the streets and alleys below. I put down my fork, my breakfast half-eaten, and strode across the room. I knew there would be no one outside and I was right, but what I did find was a gift box wrapped in exquisite paper and red ribbons…
Dr Beck's Mysterious Gift_001

Dr Beck's Mysterious Gift_002

A small card was tucked under the bow declaring “A gift from A Concerned Citizen…” Who could have left this, I wondered and more importantly, what could it be?
Dr Beck's Mysterious Gift_003

I took the box inside and opened it on my small table. I gasped out loud as I saw someone had sent me a new microscope to replace my father’s!
Dr Becks Mysterious Gift_005

Dr Becks Mysterious Gift_006

Now I could carry on my studies in to the mysterious illness that was spreading through Shamian Alley. I wonder which benevolent soul I had to thank for this wonderful gift…?

2 comments

  1. Wow, that’s wonderful! I was sorry to see that your old one was destroyed– it’s great to see that someone cares enough to do this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

