Mutations: Chapter 1 – Seeking Isolation.

Far from the taunts and the stares of Steelhead I hauled my canoe onto the riverbank that led up past an icy stream to the snow-laden forest that was my new home. I stood in the early morning chill and listened… nothing… pure silence.
Steelhead St Helens

Around me nature was slumbering under winter’s blanket, even the river seemed sleepy and slow as it gurgled past, innocently hiding the fact it was deeper and colder than hell itself.
Steelhead St Helens

It was a steep climb up into the forest, the trees creaking under their snowy burden as I passed beneath them. I spotted the yawning maw of a cave hidden in the gloom and made note to be on the look out for curious and hungry bears come spring.
Steelhead St Helens

A sudden roar of steam had me ducking for cover! It seems my new home had its own central heating system in the form of a geyser that erupted every fourteen minutes or so in a most impressive manner!
Steelhead St Helens

Looking down and back to my landing spot I knew I had made the right decision in coming here. Yes Beck was worried, but if not what the doctor had ordered then this glorious isolation was what the patient needed, I reasoned. Since I had entered this world I hadn’t for one moment been alone. The Elemental severed my connection with my creator, the fire swallowed up the Elemental and his damn backpack, and Shade had connected directly with my mind during The Erase. Since then I had managed to have only one voice in my head and I liked it that way.
Steelhead St Helens

I pitched camp by the water and lit a fire to boil some tea and warm what was left of me. Canvas would do for now, but I wanted more than that. I looked first at the trees high above me and wondered how many I’d need to build a cabin. Then staring across the river to Mara Razor’s mill, I began to wonder about approaching her for regular supplies in order that I wouldn’t have to venture into town.
Steelhead St Helens

My tea finished I moved over to the stream to wash my cup. Under the silent gaze of St Helens I gazed at the stranger staring back at me from the water and drew up my plans never to see a living soul again. After all, who in Steelhead wanted to see this walk amongst them?
Steelhead St Helens: Burnt HBA Reflection

****{}****

To be continued…

All the “Mutations” posts can be read here.

Links to other blogs and stories:
1) This tale follows on directly from Far From Home.

*****{*}*****

8 comments

  1. That reminds me I’ve found an excellent script that might be just right for your saw mill when you get round to it. I’m so pleased you’ve started back on your story again /me pulls up a log next to the fire and listens with intent 🙂

    1. Me too mate – it’s cost me two afternoons of work, but I’m happier so more motivated to actually work… well, that’s the theory anyhoo 😉

      I’m still a long way of building or buying a saw mill, but if the cabin goes well then I may try and build it and will call on you for heaps of help and strong tea! 😀

  2. A very good start to the next series. I’m really glad you’re following through on this.

    And spectacular, evocative images as usual. If you’re still being jerked around by the technology, it doesn’t show in your results. The one of looking into the reflection is really haunting.

    1. Cheers Dio – I started this post weeks and weeks ago (the pictures were taken before that whilst Steelhead still had snow) but I just didn’t ‘feel it’. Then this week I finally got around to writing a post which was going to be the first part, but I just couldn’t ignore all these pictures so I quickly knocked this together and linked it to the post I’d now shifted down to chapter 2. It feels good to have started agin, I have to say 🙂

  3. Great to see a new story starting! These interlocking stories have been fascinating so far, I can’t wait to see where this one takes you. That last image is so melancholy, poor HBA!

Leave a Reply

