I’m dropping SL for a bit.

I’m not leaving. I’m just not enjoying my time in-world right now so I’m taking a holiday. Chief annoyance is the inability to take snapshots (I think it’s this error on the Jira). I don’t build or script in SL, I write stories and take pictures. Work is so busy I don’t have the time or energy for the former and SL is so fucking borked I can’t do the later so what is the point of being there? When I can talk to my friends via email & twitter, etc. then the reason I use SL is for a creative outlet, and SL itself won’t let me. I’m off to play simple pleasure hit games like Bioshock & Left 4 Dead until someone fixes SL. If you want me, you know how to get me.

24 comments

  1. Aww, sorry to hear it… I’ve pretty much stopped using Snapzilla, I just take pics to my hard drive, so I haven’t noticed that bug. I hope you enjoy your time away and come back soon!

  2. Awe, I’m sorry to hear this too. What in the hell is wrong with the Lindens? Three sheets in the wind and no one has checked where they are actually heading. I get so frustrated each time LL releases something new they revert defects from the deep past. My gripe isn’t pictures, but the list of defects that irritate me is long. I hope you enjoy your time off. I understand your frustration completely.

    1. Cheers Yordie – normally the problems in-world wash over me, but this just really got to me. I’ve go a lot on in RL with work too so I’m tired and grumpy, but I think I need a break 🙂

  3. well bugdiddle.

    It DOES get discouraging , doesn’t it?

    You know increasingly I find that with my stories, I’m getting farther and farther away from drawing on the inspiration of our activities in SL and just going with a mashup of what’s in my own fevered imagination and the increasing number of history books I seem to ordering off of Amazon.

    But then I think taking a vacation from things every now and then is a good idea. it gives you a broader perspective and a chance to assess things.

    So have a good vacation. Don’t forget to write!

    1. Very well said Dio. I used to have an SL blog with characters from time to time and now I have a blog about characters about SL from time to time.

      We could indeed have SL blogs like….some people, but man – they would be rantings on how it makes us mad and no one wants to read that everyday. Or do they?

      Well, I don’t want to write that blog is the point I guess.

  4. I’ve been on a kind of vacation from SL myself (playing console games and Aion with friends and family) and I’ll admit it’s been fun.

    What has been concerning me lately is how many other creative folks in SL have been doing the same. I hope that they are able to fix the issue for you soon and that upon your return, it feels fresh and inspiring once more.

  5. Dam it Head 😦 Hope they fix it real soon. I have been trying to be optimistic about what’s going on in world but this is just another straw. That and the crap viewer 2. (DO NOT LIKE IT) 😦 I know you’ll be missed while you’re gone . 😦 😦

  6. So sorry to hear that you are leaving for a while Head, I know how you love your photography and you taught me all I know! thank you! I hope you enjoy your break, but come back to see us very soon!!

    Janey x

  7. Nice. I’m no Peanut Continent expert but I luv checking out any exploring diaries. Thanks!
    Glad you decided not to leave (I knew you probably couldn’t, just like me). 🙂

Leave a Reply

