Writing Style Tag Game and I’m IT!

I never do memes. Except the ones I like, of course 😀 This fun one about writing styles is from A Steampunk Reverie by Calista Taylor.

1)What’s the last thing you wrote? What’s the first thing you wrote that you still have?
Last thing is the current thing, “Far From Home” and is about HBA’s plight at the hands of a serial killer loose in Caledon Hospital and his escape from Shade City in a Blue Mars inspired world overtaken by The Great Erase. It’s been fun, but I’ve found the latter part has dragged a little – I want to move on to something new and have ideas backing up in a holding pattern in my head 🙂
First thing? Not sure, but I remember a story I write at school based on one I’d read in the 2000AD comic about a man trapped inside a computer game. Oddly enough I recall the teachers comments which said something like “Great idea, strong start but you rushed at the end as you wanted to finish”. Blimey. I’ve just surprised myself with that link through the years…

2) Write poetry?
No as I suck. Well, my few Hiakus are OK, but poetry, like ballet dancing and bear wrestling, is not a strong point with me 🙂

3) Angsty poetry?
See above. And I don’t really do angsty.

4) Favorite genre of writing?
Erm, not sure. I love writing silly smut as Lady Heady, but I also loved the steampunk-noir Dr Beck story “Goodunnit?”. Mind you, that had some silly smut in too. Is silly smut a genre? If so, that’s the chappie for me!

5) Most evil character you’ve ever created?
Although he’s not featured much (yet) I think the most evil would be the leader of the Formorians who thinks nothing about gutting live fairies to weave his magic 😉

6) Best plot you’ve ever created?
Lost & Found”. I’ve loved them all, but “Lost & Found” has been my fave so far. I loved the way I used it as an intro to Steelhead and then poured on the pressure until HBA’s fragile mind cracked like an egg – I think I handled it quite well (even if I do say so myself) and the epilogue chapter is some of my best, most honest, writing yet. Special mention has to go to Sally the Crab and her battle with the evil octopus in “The Lost Journal” as that came out of nowhere and was so much fun!

7) Coolest plot twist you’ve ever created?
Killing of Jeremiah Mason like I did – I bloody loved that last post. The whole portal snapping shut and Jeremiah dropping back to the island just as the nuclear warhead hit was so much fun to write!

8) How often do you get writer’s block?
So far not often. It’s not writers block I get as much as ‘can’t be arsed-ness’. Such spells don’t last long 🙂

9) Write fan fiction?
Nah, I don’t have any heroes so can’t write about them 🙂

10) Do you type or write by hand?
Type – mainly on a PC, but sometime laptop and sometime on my QWERTY keyboard phone (that actually works out quite well).

11) Do you save everything you write?
Yup – backups in multiple places too 🙂

12) Do you ever go back to an idea after you’ve abandoned it?
Yep – “The Lost Journal” was a reworking of “The Island” (only with better pace and an ending :-D) and a re-use of a series of in-world notecards I’d written to generate a suitable mood for a horror-themed party I threw way back in 2007.

13) What’s your favourite thing you’ve ever written?
Either the bit with Jeremiah buys the farm, or HBA blows himself up – I like big, bold dramatic scenes 😀

14) What’s everyone else’s favourite story you’ve written?
Not sure. Either Lady Heady’s *ahem* body of work or Dr Becks adventure under the streets of Babbage in “The Mysterious Note” judging by the comments.

15) Ever written romance or angsty teen drama?
Nope – neither to my taste really. Give me something to blow up or make double entendres with and I’m happy. I’m just a big kid really ;-D

16) What’s your favourite setting for your characters?
Whatever Second Life has I’ll use but I like to explore my characters pain and confusion, so I’ll say their inner-worlds mainly.

17) How many writing projects are you working on right now?
Gawd, too many! Lemme count… five I think, three of those are very active.

18) Have you ever won an award for your writing?
Nope, not doing it for that 🙂

19) What are your five favourite words?
All of them swear words. Bad ones.

20) What character have you created that is most like yourself?
Both HBA & Ryne have me in them, but I’m trying to move away from that. In HBA’s case because his connection from me has been severed so he is an avatar without a typist, and in Ryne’s case I want him to ‘live’ in Steelhead in a universe that is not SL.

21) Where do you get your ideas for your characters?
Christ! I dunno, I pull ‘em from my arse mainly. They evolve so much when you begin to write them I’m sure they aren’t created by me anyway, I just find them 😀

22) Do you ever write based on your dreams?
Nah, my dreams are *never* that interesting. Filthy, but not interesting.

23) Do you favour happy endings?
Yes and no. I like good to win, but I like it to happen at a high price.>?0I can’t imagine killing of my main characters – it’s more interesting to see them living with the damage I think.

24) Are you concerned with spelling and grammar as you write?
Yes, but forgive my own and other’s mistakes easily enough – the story’s the thing!

25) Does music help you write?
Not really. If I’m in the mood, I just write 🙂

26) Quote something you’ve written. Whatever pops in your head.
So many things come to mind, but I loved this opening from “The Ocean of Night” which was chapter 1 of “Lost & Found”:

It was night, a dark sky wrapped around him like a heavy coat. The water was cold and full of thick weeds. He swam through the cold and the weeds and the night, but it was hard and tiring. The cold sapped his strength and the weeds snatched and pulled at his limbs. He had long ago forgotten where he was swimming to or even why, he just knew he had to keep swimming, never stopping, not once, just swimming in the dark night against the cold, against the weeds pulling at him, swimming always.

Now, who should I tag?

Dio, Rhia, Darien, Lunar and Fuzz I think – come on guys, do me proud ;-D

2 comments

Leave a Reply

