Metropolis in SL

I’m sure most people in SL have heard of Metropolis, the live recreation of Fritz Lang’s film done by CARP. Well one of the TSMGO troupe, Karuna Sands (1), is tied to the history of the film and his friend and fellow TSMGOer, Lucy Tornado (2), urged us all to go and see this amazing spectacle. After a few false starts I finally got to a show on 16th October and I can honestly say I was blown away! I *LOVED* this show! It held me from start to finish and the hour whizzed by – I *have* to see it again!

Without spoiling it too much (although for a film made in 1927 I doubt I need to worry too much about spoilers 😀 – and it does follow the film closely if my memory serves me correctly) let me tell you a little of what to expect when you go (and go you must!) and see it.

First off the set is huge! I seriously need to go back there and see how they did it, because every thing is done in the same Borg-like block – all the sets are buried within it and around it. At first I was worried I’d have to walk & fly around and that’s always a nightmare of lag and folks getting lost and crashing out. CARP have thought of that – your theatre seats (complete with nice sit poses, it should be noted) are your vehicles around the huge set. As one the entire audience flies hither and yon to the correct area for the scene underway.

Oh!, I hear you wail, what of cameras and having to focus on the right bit of the action – that must suck! Calm yourself, dears – CARP have solved that too. The seat, once sat in it, takes over your camera and uses a huge series of viewpoint cameras buried around the immense set to show you exactly the right scene and ensures that everyone sees the same scene at the same time. Nifty, huh? Think of it like watching TV – it’s that good (3).

Then throughout the show there are great touches that really show the creators know SL’s limitations and are more than capable of working around them – crowd scenes done with animated textures; animation loops used cleverly to give the impression of live, free-movement; music & camera angles that really added to the mood; and, my favourite of all, cue cards in the style of the original silent movie at key points to help lead you through the tale.

Don’t take my word for all this – take a looksee at the pictures below (and more on my flickr) and get your arse down to the next showing! Here’s the SLURL: http://slurl.com/secondlife/Benvolio/35/72/1497

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

Metropolis in SL

(1) The pregnant man this year and Lucinda’s dummy last year, among many other roles.

(2) The doctor this year and tons more characters as well as set builder and writer.

(3) Osprey didn’t like that bit so much, but she doesn’t like people taking her camera away so I can see that it would irk. Mind you, she hasn’t had a telly for 20 years so has to be classed as odd(4) in my square-eyed book 😀

(4) Lovely as well, obviously!

6 comments

  1. Ahhh, you will not be disapointed – it’s very impressive! Shows are usually 1 or 2pm on Sundays. There is a group subsciber at the ‘theatre’ and they send out regular notices once you join.

Leave a Reply

