HBA Island – The Road To Its Ruin

As some of you will know, HBA Island is no more. A volcano erupted in the middle of the jungle of my old home and burnt the lot down ending what was, by then, a two year labour of love for me.

HBA Island: The End

I won’t go into the history of how I came to have a small plot of land as unhappy tales of griefers and the like are sooooo 2007, but suffice to say that in the first few months my wee 4ksqm plot was a real life saver. Even after I had moved back away and begun exploring the grid the island had a very special place in my heart and I’m only too glad that a) so many of my friends came to visit, and b) so many people I now count as friends called my home their home.

But all things must end, or at the very least change, and my jungle is no different. I was never there, I had stopped adding to the art gallery, the tale of the shipwrecked sailor had been abandoned and the humper bunker next to me had grown to be a small thorn in my side. So before I ended up falling out with neighbours I’d known for some time, and before I grew to see my jungle not as a place of peace, but as a creative mill stone, I knew I had to get rid of it.

I *did* think about selling it, but since I bought it in 2007 for 6L$ a sqm land prices had crashed, the measly 1L$ per sqm I would have received (even if I could have found a buyer) just wasn’t worth the effort. I simply informed the owner (the ever excellent Deoko Cassidy) that I wasn’t going to renew after the current rent ran out and he should take back the land. I then had a week or so to plan its demise… bwahahahahahaha!

Actually, my first idea was for a meteorite strike (this grew out of an idea I had in 2007 to have meteorite strike the jungle and slowly convert it to an alien landscape) but at the same time Miss Ordinal Malaprop was having a similar idea to get rid of her land in Caledon and two such strikes seemed… uninventive. Besides, somehow it didn’t feel right – as I said, the idea was an old one and with an very different purpose in mind, to wit the continuation of the Island as a story telling medium, and this was not what I wanted.

As I have mentioned on many occasions, all my good ideas occur in the shower, and as I stood under the lovely hot water one morn I felt the idea pop into my mind – a volcano! Burn the bloody island to the ground!

I had a week left and began planning that very night – Sally the crab would return (following the poll I ran) and cause the cataclysm. The volcano would grow a little each night, finally eruting and burning the whole place down for the last 2 or 3 nights until BOOM! HBA Island was no more. So with a volcano from Brenda Schoonhoven and a sculptie stream which I edited to run with lava, from the very clever Vlad Bjorenson I set about the dread deed! Below I present a pictoral record of the end of my Island and the group which I’d set up to use it – one thing I will say is that manually deleting nearly a thousand Linden trees and plants is more time consuming than you might at first imagine 0.o

First the Art Gallery and building area had to go…
HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

Then I fell back to earth…
HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

Where I deleted the old TP point and welcome area with the freebies and seats and stuff…
HBA Island: The End

Before clearing some trees for the volcano. I buried it deep so it was just a circle of rock – as I pulledit up, more and more trees had to go until, by the time the full 60m one was in place, I had to go inside and delete hundreds of trees and plants!
HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

Then I added fire and the sculptie stream
HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

And stood back with Sally to admire our work…
HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

After the photos were taken for the story “HBA Island: The End”, all that was left to do was clear the island of all prims and delete the HBA Island group (5 members – me, Ryne [also me] and Janey, Pinkie & Annika)…
HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: the End

HBA Island: the End

HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

HBA Island: The End

Sigh… the end of a 2 year chapter of my life 🙂

17 comments

  1. Aye we did indeed 🙂 I was really sorry to se it go, but also very relieved as it had become a millstone and the largest neighbour, although nice enough, had me turn my weather off and other things – I guess he didn’t like it raining next to his sex nest 😀

    I still have my small place in Cowell but my places in Atlas and Nube have gone too. I’m currently living in Steelhead and some exciting (for me) news is that good old Super Cop Ryne Beck is coming out of retirement… albeit as a new character, a doctor from the 1850s ;-D

    Good to hear from you mate x 🙂

    1. Bloody hell! You must have been one of the few ;-D I started it to display my friends work, and then bought some from other artists, but I ran out of time in the end so it just stopped growing…

      I hope you visited the jungle below 😀

      1. I never *knew* there was a jungle below, frankly, though once I do remember transporting down–or falling, I seem to remember doing a lot of both back then–and liking the look.

        This is even funnier–I clearly remember one occasion where I was trying to master the art of Fox Wearing Cowboy Hat–since I worked in Steelhead at the time. 🙂

          1. Oh, goodness no. I’m an admin for a private estate of a friend, and briefly I was an estate manager for Steelhead (back when Steelhead was just the one); thankfully, they have a much better management team now, and I was only transitional anyway.

            *tries to remember if she has a picture of the struggle with the hat* Likely not, it just didn’t look right. I decided I was perfectly fine wearing buckskins around town in my foxform.

            But I have to find a good pic of me for Radio Riel’s employee wall, so I’ll be poking around in photos. Who knows, something might turn up. 🙂

      1. Darien’s right–Lady Serra owns Winterfell, and all her surrounding lands. The Seneschelf does a great job of managing them, too. All I do there is flake out on managing a pub. :p

  2. Welcome to Steelhead 🙂
    I’m sorry your island had to end, but delighted that you will be part of our community.

Leave a Reply

