Definitions of Roleplay in SL

A funny thing happened on the way to the forum I learnt an important definition of a style of roleplay in SL: Build RP where folks build things to roleplay with.

26th August 2009 EDIT: To clear something up in one of the P.S. paragraphs below I have edited what could be read as negative views about Steelhead’s management because they weren’t meant like that – they were supposed to be positive, but hey ho I was tired and not thinking 😀

When written like that I realise it sounds obvious, but what I’m putting down here is not that I have found a new style of RP, just its definition. And that is important because it helps understand further how RP, the various styles RP, work in SL. It got me to thinking how could I define my style and what others could I spot. I therefore present my shortlist of RP styles-please let me know what you think and feel free to redefine and add more 🙂

Build RP is where folks actively build places and things for others to interact with and that is how the story is told.

To give my style a definition, I’d probably use Written RP. In Written RP folks concoct storyline in-world but generally develop them outside in blogs and forums.

On top of that I guess you’d have to have Social RP. In Social RP folks generally live as their characters, interacting with others as their characters would.

All these then go to make up Community RP where a community builds, writes and lives the RP. Of course no one is confined to one style, we all crossover from one to another, but it seems most folks prefer, or find their strengths, in one style over the others.

p.s. This post came about because of a very interesting event in Steelhead – someone from New Babbage opened a factory that was going to cut down all the trees around Steelhead and there was a protest. Eventually a storm hit the city and, ironically, a large tree blew down and crushed the factory. The New Babbager who started the venture returned to Babbage complaining about the tree huggers from Steelhead (I am paraphrasing, of course). Now to many this smacks of RP, but to some in Steelhead this form of RP was new and that fact, combined with the management’s decision to deny all knowledge to ensure the tale seemed real and fun, meant that not everybody in Steelhead felt they could/should take part. This forum post explains more, but really it’s a learning exercise for all – Steelhead maybe an old city in SL terms, but it’s a small one that has grown slowly and it is a city of written & social RP rather than bulid RP. Build RP *does* exist in Stelhead, but not really in a big RP sense – but I suspect this is about to change 🙂

p.p.s. Change is a funny old thing. I really don’t envy the job of Steelhead management. The city started off as Wild West, quickly moved to Weird West and is now more Gaslamp Fantasy with a curious blend of real life (like Deadwood) and fantastical (werewolf for a sheriff, dragon taven owners, evil tiny kitty cat geniuses) where RP is just about to take off in what feels like a big way. This is not to say it hasn’t had RP before, but it feels to me like a tipping point to a more RP-themed community is close, and this makes some of the residents feel nervous – not everyone in Steelhead wants to RP or feels confident enough in their skills or social place to get involved. Management are looking at ways to allow folks the chance to get involved (and the example above was a learning curve for them too) but I can’t help but feel that as with so much in life, to RP means that at some point you have to stop looking at the half-open door waiting for someone to open it and just walk on through all by yourself.

p.p.p.s. Social structures are a funny old thing too. Part of the heffalump in the room in the Steelhead forums (and even in my last paragraph if I’m honest) is that of people feeling they are not in, or have access to, the people in the group that makes the city work. There was an unspoken undercurrent in the forum post that actually some folks felt they were less important in the grand scheme of things and therefore would never be invited to play. I think it’s a half-open door again where you have to reach out to folks and build honest friendships, but also sell yourself a little. I dunno, I find that to get noticed by the folks that run things, you have to a) approach them and b) prove you can do it, whatever it is. Most groups are open to new folks coming along in my experience and that’s how I always approach new groups – like I’ll be welcomed politely but kept at a distance until they’ve worked me out. Basic pshychology isn’t it?

p.p.p.p.s. I may be rambling now – it’s 5am and I’ve had 2 hours sleep tonight on top of not much sleep of late thank to jetlag and a toddler who now won’t sleep alone after his holiday bed with mummy & daddy. Oy vey.

18 comments

  1. the problem of continually having to integrate new folk into an rp community that has existing relationship sets and ongoing story arcs is one they all face.

    But in a way that is part of what makes an rp community very much like a rl one. The same dynamics apply. New person comes in, they need to find a way of fitting in, or they will get bored, lonely, and/or pissed off and will flee…

    It’s interesting in seeing how different places try to structure it. Some rp communities in SL, it is obvious right off the bat how a newcomer fits in — as fresh meat. They have fun and eat you alive, and if you’re one of the willing victim community that seems to make up a large part of sl, you get right into the swim of things being beaten assaulted and abused. Other sims that have a less predatory, pathological form of rp, they use different approaches, like in Hogwarts United where you get orientation classes and have to work out your backstory in advance. Or Deadwood where we3 have established characters who deliberately reach out to newcomers and try to draw them into the existing storylines — or at least give them information so they can survive and figure out what is going on. In a way, it might not be entirely authentic, but the sim can’t stay in business if you kill off or drive away all your potential new residents in the first five minutes they’re in your town.

    In some ways though, I think it ultimately is up to the newcomer to adjust and work their way into the rp. One way to do so is the old reenacting/living history strategy of always going into something new with a “pard” — a friend who has your back and who, if nothing else , gives you somebody to talk to when everyone else is finishing that big poker game they’ve been engaged in for five months.

  2. Hiya Dio,

    I agree with you about the need for fresh blood in a RP sim – and the need for not only them to be welcomes and mentored, but also for them to get stuck in and start taking part.

    Part of the problem in Steelhead right now (I say ‘problem’ – it’s not a problem at all, just part of the process of becoming more RP centric) is that as it grows and more people come in, more people want to RP and the speed at which people want to do that often outstrips the pace of life of the existing residents & players. I have total confidence that things will work out, but I feel that the city may lose one or two olde residents who either don’t want to RP, or feel pushed out and marginalised by the speed (or even the very notion) of change.

    Lunar, one of the two managers, is a very caring chap and seems to be genuinely open minded about change and the need to try and bring everyone on board so I honestly think the process is in good hands, but I expect there will be bumps along the road that will cause him a great deal of heartache.

    Bottom line is I think Steelhead will emerge from this period of change a stronger community, but not the same community it is now – but then it isn’t the same it was two years ago either and it survived 😀

  3. Oh, and another good thing about Steelhead is that the inner circle of community leaders are both old (in terms of being in, and comminted to, the city for the last two years) and very inclusive. I’ve not met one who strikes me as the type to say “This city is mine, you can’t come in”. I’ve not met them all, mind, but I get the impression that this covers them all – they are welcoming and supportive.

    After that, it’s really up to the residents to make what they will of their new life in the city 🙂

  4. I have to say that there are dozens of different forms of RP at least in Second Life. Building together goes way back.

    With regard to you: you have a unique purpose in SL, and being a purist of a sort, I wouldn’t want to see you adapt to someone else’s form of storytelling, just continue to be inspired by your discoveries and tell stories your way. Just me.

    Personally I don’t see the same thing between an Email or message board RP throwing in a plot complication and someone running a sim people co-invest in not being in on something which could be construed as griefing by some. At least hinting there might be some conflict and not specifying would have been considerate. But then again it’s just me and my ethical subroutines.

  5. TY Holo – I don’t think I could bend to someone else’s style if I had to. There seems to be a voice inside that wants to come out its own way 🙂 I’m not sure I have a unique purpose anywhere in life though 😀

    I think (actually, I’m certain) that the people involved in the RP episode in Steelhead have taken that exact lesson away with them – let people know *something* is going on, but not what. But equally, the people of Steelhead have learnt to look out for signs of a different type of RP now. As I say, it’s all new to the sim and its residents & managers so we are all on the same learning curve.

  6. Oooo, and with regard to the definitions of RP – I’d be interested to know what others you’ve come across. I tried to keep these broad brush so cover more – so that Written covers not only blogs, but Nings and the like, and Build not only covers the building of a sim, but the building of props that drive a story onwards, that sort of thing.

    The one I had most difficulty naming was Social – here I meant the ppl in, say, Caledon who dress, act, speak and interact as though they are in Victorian London. I nearly called it Acting, but that didn’t seem to do it, so I plumped for Social to reflect the social interaction that defines this style.

    1. I have seen “social RP” also called “character RP”. It is difficult to define because of course, people also do character RP WITHIN other forms of RP. But I think it describes the activity a little better than the term “social”, since character RP does not require any particular social context.

      Indeed, the preference for character RP players to be consistent across social contexts leads frequently to conflict: SL children in Zindra, furries in Gor O.o!

  7. Send the kids to Gor and the furries to Sindra! 😀

    I see your point on Charcater RP, but how would someone Character RPs outside a social context? If there is no one there but themselves and there is no evidence at the end (a blog story or whatever) how have the RPed?

    1. Oh, I meant: while Character RP may have its roots in a particular society (cf Neo-Victorian characters originating in Caledon), Character RP players are often perfectly comfortable taking their RP to OTHER societies and interacting there. Of course you’re right, they do require other players to be present to do RP within any society. (Therefore Gia’s frustration in Steelhead. Must drop by her RP cafe sometime when she’s online).

      There was an inflammatory thread touching on this in SL’s forums recently, when 2 upright Victorians TP’d into the new Berlin 1920’s sim, and had trouble “getting” that this was a non-RP sim which nevertheless preferred visitors to wear period-appropriate dress (provided free).

      1. Oh, I see – and I do sympathise with the neo-vics in Berlin as it seems odd to me to have a period dress code yet no RP taking place or avatar restrictions. A robot in 1920s clothes is still a robot 🙂

        But having said that, sim is like someone’s house and when you are in someonw’s house who takes their shoes off, you take your shoes off or don’t go in.

  8. Great post (as usual). Made me think. Personally, I fit better into your Written RP category, but I actually never thought of myself (or myself through avatars) as role playing in SL.
    In*general*, and this is just my experience… well, I better stop there. I may add something later about this subject.

  9. *sigh* well, I’ve been thinking about styles and forms of rp, and the distinction I most commonly see people making is between the various manifestations of free-form interaction rp and “storytelling” rp.

    At the moment I can’t recall if anyone has given a truly satisfactory name to the free-form interaction style rp that you find in many places — this is the type rp that is in many ways like being in a first person shooter: you take on the role of a futuristic criminal, or bounty hunter, or a mobster, or an old west outlaw, or feckless victim, and you pretty much just run around bumping into other characters in a themed build, shooting and assaulting, and being shot and assaulted in return. There’s usually a fair amount of cybering going on, and often, forced sex seems to be a key aspect of the pixel-poking.

    Then there is “storytelling” rp where the emphasis is on developing characters and playing out scenarios that may either be more or less planned, or simply set in motion with multiple players taking part in a sort of improv theater situation to see where the story goes and what will transpire.

    There are a number of different manifestations of storytelling rp, some of which have all the storylines playing out within the sim, and others of which may have elements that are written out (often with illustrations in the form of screen shots) in a forum or a blog. Those written segments may just be a summary of what was played out in-world, or they may be extensions of the in-world rp (tying scenarios together into a larger story arc or filling in gaps in the action that would be “off-screen” in-world).

    Now there is a certain degree of cross-over between these two categories. Every rp community is different, and incorporates aspects of free-from interaction and storytelling to varying degrees in what they do.

    Even the most straightforward free-from interaction rp sim will have some kind of overall story that provides a context for the randomly generated sex and violence, such as “this is a city of the future, everyone is a huge asshole, and the place smells like shit.”

    Similarly a great many of the ‘storytelling” sims incorporate some level of randomly generated interaction into the storytelling process. This randomness creates opportunities for new scenarios,and an option of serendipity that is harder to find in a more throughout planned out storyline.

    Personally that is something I enjoy, where you have a context and a scenario in which an ensemble of well developed characters can be introduced, and you see what happens, like “folks are standing around talking and a mountain lion comes down from the hills and attacks Miss Dio”

    In this style of storytelling rp it is like improv theater in which these characters that you care about have to sort things out and react in ways that are true to the canon you are working within as well as the individual established personas. And it’s improv theater in which the roleplayers are both actors and audience.

    I will admit it gets a bit problematic when you have some narcissistic “Mary Sue” player who feels they have to “win” the scenario, or attention whores who always have to feel like the center of the universe, but those people don’t tend to last long.

    The interesting thing is what happens once these scenarios have been completed. It’s fun to see what people do to tie a completed scenario into other scenarios to form a larger storyline, and then share them with other people.

    And you know…that’s perhaps the heart of the difference between one style and another. Are you doing the rp solely for your own self amusement or as something to share? Well dang, maybe that’s the best way to differentiate these two styles. One style offers action where the entertainment value is primarily internal, or at most, shared with a limited circle of fellow players who are directly impacted by your prim weapons and/or genitalia. And the other style is where the players try to share more complete stories (with things like characters and plot and emotions and ideas and funnystuff to make you laugh) with a larger audience that extends beyond yourself and those you are directly interacting with.

    So does that make sense or am I mushing over the obvious?

    1. Hiya Dio – Sorry for the late reply but I’ve been busy as hell and not online much, so my replies have been cut down to one or two lines and I wanted to give your comment, and Bakers, more thought than that.

      I agree with you completely about the cross-over of style – I really can’t think of anyone who just sticks to one style of RP, with the exception of maybe ‘social’ (or ‘character’ or free-form’) RPers – I can see them living in a sim as, say, a Victorian gentleman but never actually taking part of written or event RP, simply wandering about and interacting with folks as their character.

      Now, whilst I’m sure I don’t have to point out to you that I in no way attach a value or judgement to thee different styles of RP, for others I may have to point out that I’m not saying one style is better than another – in fact I consider them all vital to the whole. /end public service announcement.

      You mention the mountain lion event and I think this provides a good example of what I am missing at the moment – community interaction that leads to improv RP. I know I’m new in Steelhead and therefore don’t know many folks yet, but the vast majority of Steelheadians are from your neck of the woods meaning that as Brit I’m cut off from 99% of the activities and events in the city. With that and my reduced on-line time, I’m lucky if I see a single soul in City when I’m there.

      Now don’t get me wrong, when it comes to my written RP in Steelhead I am collaborating with others in the city. When you read a post and it has a character other than HBA/Jeremiah in, I’m going to the typist behind that character and discussing, usually in email, my plans and their thoughts before I write the post with a final check to see if they approve of it. But that’s only one part of the whole roleplay experience, and it’s the social side I’m missing out on too.

      Are you stating the obvious? I don’t think so – if it were obvious I think more people would be having the kind of discussions we are having and more RP sims would be taking advantage of that knowledge to attract player.

      I’m hoping to be part of the later scenario you describe – part of an onging, event and character led storytelling RP community and at the moment I only really feel as if I’ve brushed the edges of both my, and Steelhead’s, potential. The acid test for me is whether I’ll be invited into other folk’s stories and whether or not more community events occur when I can participate. If not, then no matter how wonderful Steelhead is (and it is) then it may not be right for me and my search for a home will continue.

  10. “Please do! I consider you a written RPers, but also a theorist and philosopher ”

    Well… thought I’d give this a quick stab tonight before heading to bed again. Basically I believe this subject, for me, has to be framed by the give and take between RL and SL: point-of-view; nature of the avatar; hidden verses revealed.

    Let me give you an example. One of myselves in SL, Karoz, believes he is from a town on the sourthern continent called Chilbo. First, The Baker family establishes a presence on the continent; set up their usual structures and related galleries. Karoz sets home there. Karoz heads to Chilbo for first time… and gets blown up by a tank when entering the town. My computer actually went dead at the time. I had taken snapshots. Later, text is added when I flesh out the related blog entry… Karoz is excited about revisiting Chilbo, etc. But the tank experience was frightening to Karoz, I know, and also myself within Karoz. When he blows up (and my computer goes dead) my thoughts are: this has to mean something. Spur of the moment, I *realize* that *Karoz* realizes this is not the Chilbo he knew “before”. This is a different Chilbo.

    This seed idea unfolds to reveal many other ideas attached to Chilbo (outlined in the blog), eventually taking it beyond the range of Karoz. Chilbo itself is not a rp community, at least in any sense described in other replies to this post.

    I think this has more to do with energy, some of which seems to be directed from Chilbo itself. Perhaps Chilbo has an interior story to tell, but doesn’t have the words to do so, being a non-rp community. Just as Karoz theorized, though, there is a Chilbo within Chilbo, seemingly. And it’s perhaps just as real or *more real* than the virtual Chilbo you can visit and enjoy through your own avatar.

    SL is a massive role playing game itself. When role playing games within this overall game are formed, it becomes more fractal. I know that Karoz was formed specifically for a role in SL, and that is to be from Chilbo but not from what others in SL (and RL) would understand as the SL Chilbo. I did not create the role playing, though, as much as just let it unfold within the natural context of SL itself, and “queer” events that just seem to happen there with some regularity.

    That’s my stab, however badly directed. 🙂

    1. Hiya Baker – as with Dio, sorry for the delay but I wanted to digest and find time to reply properly.

      Your comment was more than a stab, it is a very incisive alternative viewpoint on not on the nature of roleplay in SL, but the nature of SL itself.

      With notably few exceptions, all the folks I know / read acknowledge that SL is not real – RL is real, SL is a ‘game’ and within it are other games nested and embedded. But the interesting thing you bring up is the ability to almost ignore all these levels and impose a new level of game on the games within a game. This I find fascinating. Looking back, I think that in some (small) measure this is what I did with Salazar’s Cowell & Kahruvel – I saw what he had created and wanted to layer upon it and weave through it my own creations. But you do this in a far more creative, naturalistic and wonderfully abstract way than anyone else I know. You see and create connections and layers that no one else could ever see or create and that’s what I find gives your work a strangely compelling hyper-real quality that I have found nowhere else.

      Salazar is a god-like creator. By that I mean he has conjured up an entire world filled with details that still blow me away. His work on Nautilus’ history and how it fit his own was genius.

      Darien is a freaking dynamo! That man can create more ideas and then turn them into more storylines and drag more people into them than anyone I have ever met. He is a mythos creator bar none.

      Dio is a story weaver without equal. She can take the simplest of situations and spin from it a complete tale that does not in any way shape or form feel like an idea stretch out beyond its worth.

      But you. You are unique. I have no idea what you see or how, but you can look at the same image as me or any of the above and be transported to an entirely different universe. I don’t even thing you see the same things anymore.

      It’s like drinking fine wine – I would taste it and make a cheeky comment on its fruity nature. Darien would see within the wine the demons that fought over the vines seeded on earth by giants. Sal would know precisely where the grape grew and how his grandmother saved a cherished bottle in the Great Erase. Dio would know right away just which cowpoke would kill for a bottle of this wine and the look in a young woman’s eye as he presented it to her.

      But you… You deconstruct not only the wine, but the bottle and the room and the very nature of material reality to then reconstruct them in a way that makes them seem like they themselves are watching us and creating their own stories about us.

      There needs to be an entirely new RP category called Baker RP and only the most creative thinkers would even understand the concept, let alone how to take part 😀

  11. Amazing reply, HBA. Of course one likes to be praised, but… well, sometimes you just accept and move on without critique. I would, in general, strongly defer to SL itself.

    I agree with your opinions about Mr. Jack… I think everyone involved in any kind of myth-making, SL style, should study his words carefully. One complaint is that his thoughts are often buried in SL forums from long ago posts… and he needs to keep on keeping on with his myths (although you mention Nautilus). But he’s done so much already.

    Another, stronger influence for me outside of SL is author Philip Dick, whose constant was to write “reality” from the inside out — that seems to go along more with some of your comments about deconstruction. In this same vein we have the movies of David Lynch, especially post Twin Peaks work. That’s been a major influence as well, in ways I cannot speak of here, actually.

    Back to SL, I will admit that I seem to be moving into a zone where things are beginning to look a bit too much alike — avatars, vegetation, landscape. I’m sure you and others know what I mean here. A benefit of this is that it makes me appreciate RL more. I appreciate RL textures more than pre-SL days, I believe; I appreciate the ability to look long distances unencumbered by a 96-128 meter draw range. I appreciate the ability to accomplish simple acts without the need for poseballs.

    I also see the limitations of group contact in SL. Although I enjoy meeting other avatars and interacting with them (esp. after a couple glasses of RL wine!) each and every party or other gathering I’ve been to has become draining or awkward after a certain, set limit (usually, oh, ½ an hour). You can only convey so much by typing to another without accompanying RL gestures, asides, range of movement. You can only dance so many prearranged dance moves and not begin to find it a bit hollow.

    Really, all the people I interact with now in SL are also RL friends, whether through personal interactions or emails.

    I’ve not got “sucked in” or gone in any way “native”, as Mark S. Meadows, author of “I Avatar,” put it… always given SL a light touch (I only use free avatar parts in making my own avatars; view myself as an “outsider” in building, a position I actually like… didn’t come into SL to be a builder per se). A lot of this has to do with computer power limitations, and also money limitations. The artists I see in SL that have made it “big” (I probably see myself as an artist in SL more than anything, along with the exploring and storytelling part), also have RL artistic success in greater part. I don’t promote myself as a commercial artist in RL; no surprise, then, that I can’t even cover my smallest parcel rent in SL through virtual gallery sales. I don’t think many people are really in SL to make RL money: obviously if you count the time involved in SL business in relation to the money you make in RL during that same period, it usually can’t compare. I, like the vast majority of other users behind the avatars, have a day job, not a high powered one but one that provides a steady enough income where I can treat SL as a “game” and not any kind of commercial venture, which would only bring me headaches since I have really nothing of value to sell to most of those who frequent SL, it appears. For the great majority, you enter SL because you enjoy what you do there and have fun with it. You gain creative inspiration from your actions and involvements there, which can translate to RL writings such as blogs, and more. SL art can transfer to RL art — the ease of taking snapshots in SL has gotten me interested in RL photography for the first time.

    And, amazingly, SL has helped conquer my natural fear of heights I’ve had since memory served, since I’m so use to flying and also building way up in the virtual sky now. Wonder if others have had that same experience?

    I personally, then, think SL is a bit of a closed system. It will be seen as unique to this time, as virtual reality and the internet move closer together. Issues of lag will be seen, in this future view, as similar to speed issues with dial-up. I, of course, hope SL lives on, and a way to accomplish this is remember not only the creatively successful avatars who inhabit or inhabited that world — the Arcadia Asylums, the Proks and Christiano Midnights, the Fleep Tuques and Desmond Shangs, the Marienne McCanns, the Bettina Tizzys, the Salazar Jacks and Osprey Therians and Enjah Mysterios and Headburro Antfarms, and many, many others, perhaps including, yes, The Bakers down the road (although I still consider myselves newbies in respect to all those listed out above) — but also the common myths we share, the basically superbly crafted continents and islands and objects. Yes, we must remember the often belittled Lindens as well, of course, starting with the vision of Philip I. We all come from that vision, not necessarily the “World Domination Now” part, but, well, in just a quick perusing of the Intenet for an appropriate idea, ran across this from Not Possible IRL:
    http://npirl.blogspot.com/2008/03/zomg-philip-rosedale-philip-linden-is.html
    It’s, I suppose, the idea that Philip Linden placed creative people at the top of his hierarchy. Good creativity is not the same as good economy (see the other Philip I mention here: Dick), although they can walk hand in hand at special moments. I would ask that SL not sacrifice creative content for economic “progress”, or to conform with the ideals of other, more game-oriented virtual realities, however hot they might seem at any given moment. The open ended aspect, the non-goal quality, is what seems to make SL unique… at least to my relative newbie eyes. Think about it: for P. Linen it all started with a visit to Burning Man. That vision gleaned on that particular day has gotten us, collectively, this far, and I think it can take us at least a stone’s throw further still.

    We can do all the rp we want to within this overarching storyline and still conform to the “game.” It’s the freedom to rp or not to rp, and to understand the needs of each group, that will best serve all of us concerning this particular topic. For instance, I don’t rp with Karoz when I’m interacting with other avatars, usually. In those instances, I try to be the user behind the avatar as much as possible and with as much straight shooting as I can considering I’m usually inhabiting a half Space Ghost, half Linden Boy Next Door avatar shape. Some people don’t like mixing RL and SL in that way (I personally don’t know of many avatars in this category). That’s fine. That’s freedom. And it’s how we allow such freedoms that will ultimately define the long term value and impact of SL, I believe.

    Of course, all this stuff I’m saying could be horsecrap and I’m sure a portion of it is. 😉

    Thanks again, HBA. You’ve been a good friend, and I hope that we do indeed get to meet in Meat Space sometime.

  12. One more thought on this…

    http://npirl.blogspot.com/2009/08/this-is-it-new-virtual-world-blue-mars.html

    The big issue seems to be, as I’m reading it, whether Blue Mars’ off-world creation model will replace SL’s in-world prim oriented one. I think SL has to adapt on this issue in some way… thought about this problem yesterday while writing the big reply above and before knowing anything at all about Blue Mars.

    Related quote from another blog discussing the subject…

    http://rock-vacirca.blogspot.com/2009/06/creation-tools-second-life-v-blue-mars.html

    Another big plus for out of world creation is security. The big crash this weekend (20/21 June) of SL saw many people lose irrevocably content they had been working on for hours, and the loss of objects that had been paid for. See this thread. This cannot happen with the BM Sandbox approach, as content is created and stored on your own PC, before it is uploaded. You always have the original as backup.

    *****

    (“Timing is everything.”)

Leave a Reply

