The Lost Journal: An Ending, Of Sorts…

From the moment the arrow tore into my leg, the poison attacked my system. The adrenaline of the immediate attack held it at bay for a minute or so, but even as Mason leapt to my rescue I was fading and by the time he’d dragged me to the detonating plunger I had all but passed out.

I recall nothing of the minutes between when he rescued me (for the second time) and when he pushed me into the portal created by the Elemental, but in my stupor I knew enough to realise he’d been tricked. I grabbed him, tried my damndest to pull him through, but the portal closed and I fell backwards through it. I hit a wooden floor hard, in my hand I held Jeremiah’s own, sliced neatly off mid-forearm by the closing portal. It twitched briefly, then turned white before disintegrating, tiny red stars breaking free from it and twisting upwards like fire motes rising in the heat until nothing was left.

As it vanished my eyes began to close.

Somewhere I heard voices. I didn’t care anymore. Nothing mattered. They could have me. To hell with them all. The void closed around me and I knew no more.

The end for now, but to be continued…

8 comments

  1. If Mason came to no arm then thats all well and good but I have no bait for poor Sally now 😦

    Has been an excellent enthralling story , don’t want it to end 🙂

  2. Cheers guys! I really enjoyed writing it – although I didn’t get much time to write with Darien, he’s sparked off a creative fire that shows no signs of going out just yet 😀

    P.S. Ilia, for me it was Sally’s escape from the octopus and lauching of the missile 🙂

  3. Awwwwwwwwwwwwww. I am sad his arm disappeared. I was going to keep it in statis in case we needed to clone him!

  4. Hiya Genie – that was at Darien’s request… but you can’t keep a good man like Jeremiah down – I’m sure he’ll be back 🙂

Leave a Reply

