What a Burro’s playing – June 2015 update

It’s been over a year since I last wrote one of these posts and in that year my gaming life has really shrunk, both in terms of time and scope. You see, my work has been horribly busy over the last twelve months (continuing the trend of the last four years, if I’m honest, and I can’t see it getting any better) and most of my free time is taken up with family time, very important when you have little kids. In that time I bought into the premium beta of Elite Dangerous and that became the all encompassing obsession I knew it would, although I did find time to play a few other games and a year after first piloting a Sidewinder my love of Elite is on the decline. So, what am I playing?

Elite Dangerous: After a year of playing and finding myself taking short breaks throughout I think I’m finally at a point where I’m not going to go back for quite some time. It was the recent Powerplay update that broke me because it showed me that the kind of gameplay I’d like to see isn’t likely to be implemented anytime soon. Of course I’ll probably go back but only once Frontier add multiple character slots (so I can experience different types of gameplay without locking myself into one form for extended periods), planetary landings (I want to explore alien worlds, not just take screen shots of them from orbit), and a more immersive mission structure (to give me a sense of purpose in the galaxy without drinking the Koolaid of Powerplay). It’s still a good game but just one still awaiting many key features that will raise it to a great one. Hopefully ED will flesh out enough in 2015 for me to go back, but for now… meh.

Guild Wars 2: I started Elite just as the Festival of The Winds came to an end and Living World season 2 started. I logged in enough to get each of the season 2 episodes but I have yet to play a single one of them. Now there is an expansion, Great of Thorns, and I’ve not read a thing that makes me want to play it, let alone play it.

MCPE: Update 0.11.0 came out at the start of June and it continued the run of strong, feature packed updates released in the last couple of years. Mojang have taken on three more devs devoted to the pocket edition and the pace of updates is likely to increase dramatically, especially if the additional features they added to 0.11.0 in just a few weeks of being hired is anything to go by! This continues to be the most fun when playing alongside my kids on tablets 🙂

Transmission and Hook: Both of these are mobile logic puzzle games (I use Android but it’s a fair assumption they will be available for iOS too) and both are totally recommended as they are both beautiful and fiendish in equal measure.

These are the games that are available now but there is at least one other upcoming game I’m now pinning my hopes on…

No Man’s Sky: If Elite Dangerous is all hard sci fi and stark, uncaring beauty, the upcoming No Man’s Sky is a throw back to the eye-popping wonder of the 1970s sci fi heyday. Both offer an immense procedurally generated universe. Both offer open gameplay and the freedom to explore and play in whatever way you choose. But NMS seems to offer a more complete offering of fun over ED’s patchwork of genius and boredom. NMS may also prove to be a big but dull game too, but until it does I’ll be keeping a hopeful eye on it…

Unfortunately that’s it for games and me. A combination of little time and even less interest means I’m facing a bleak few months on the gaming front. What about you? What are you playing, enjoying, not enjoying, waiting for? Leave a comment below.

6 comments

  1. Having a an enforced break from LOTRO (well I am still logging in) but using my gaming time, and there is less of that due to family and work, on EVE online…my first trip here and so far so good 🙂 I find 6-10 hrs a week of gaming a bit on the sparse side so am looking to dig out some quality gaming time in the near future…

    Financial situation continues to worsen here in Argentina and getting more desperate to leave, but with family in tow very tricky!

    There is a bright future out there somewhere, hopefully in ELITE one day and No Man’s Sky sounds interesting too! Maybe one day have a gaming PC again…and as my kids grow up I hope they introduce me to the games that rock their boats…

    Until then will keep on sailing 🙂

  2. I don’t play MMOs much any more, they got boring very fast and I’m tired of all the grinding and I don’t have the patience to play with other people any more. The only one I still play off-and-on is SW:TOR and I play that for the story. I will forever love that universe.

    I’ve gone back to my single player RPGs where I don’t have to grind for gold, cool armour and weapons! 🙂 Over Christmas I played Dragon Age Inquisition and I’m on my 2nd playthrough. When that gets a bit too much I switch to either Witcher 1 or Mass Effect 1. I’d love to start playing Fallout New Vegas, probably leave that for the summer holidays.

    Sometime in the gameing-near-future I want to play The Witcher: Wild Hunt, but I’ll wait for it to get cheaper and hopefully come October I’ll be playing Fallout 4 🙂 Eventually, I want to play Mass Effect Andromeda, but that won’t be out until next year and, of course, Tomb Raider when it comes out on PC (now that I have a beast of a machine I can enjoy the games in their full glory), Dishonoured 2 (I still have to finish the first one). I do love BioWare and Bethesda Games.

    ……and I have quite a backlog in my Steam Library, so I think I have enough to keep me busy for now! 🙂 🙂 So the plan this summer; beach, wine, reading and gaming! 🙂 🙂

    1. Beach and wine sound the best of all the plans there but also I’m coming to the realisation I no longer want to play with other people either. I should really go back and finish Borderlands 2 😀

Leave a comment